Home Cricket News Australia Announce Playing XI For 1st Test Against West Indies

Australia Announce Playing XI For 1st Test Against West Indies

Australia Announce Playing XI For 1st Test Against West Indies
Australia cricket team.

Australia have announced their playing XI for the first Test match against visiting West Indies to be played at Optus Stadium, Perth on 29 November 2022. The hosts would be looking to consolidate their position in the ICC Test Championship 2021/23 cycle. It looks like a solid batting unit as David Warner would open with Usman Khawaja.

Steve Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Travis Head, Cameron Green, and Alex Carey would comprise the middle order. Pat Cummins will lead the side hoping to see Australia see West Indies dominate in the first Test and gain one step ahead for the finals of the ICC Test Championship.

Australia made only one change as Josh Hazlewood has been included in their tour of Sri Lanka in July this year. Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood comprise of pace bowling while Nathan Lyon is the lone spinner in the squad.

Marcus Harris and Scott Boland are the only two players not making the cut for the squad in the playing XI. Australia is the favorite to win the first Test. Australia will host West Indies for the first time in seven years. The hosts won the 3-match series in the 2015-16 series.

Australia are currently No.1 in ICC Test Championship

Australia is currently number 1 spot in the ICC Test Championship cycle and would look to gain further points before the tough 3 Test match series against South Africa to be played in December.

The Aussies won the first Test against Sri Lanka by 10 wickets at Galle before the hosts Sri Lanka won the second match by an innings and 39 runs to level the series with a scoreline of 1-1.

Australia has a strong unit that can easily create much impact with its strong batting and bowling unit. It will be interesting to see if the hosts would damage the West Indies team.

Here we look at Australia’s playing XI for the first Test against West Indies

David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins (c), Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.



Latest Posts