Home Cricket News Australia Announce Squad For T20 World Cup; All-Rounder Tim David Included

Australia Announce Squad For T20 World Cup; All-Rounder Tim David Included

Australia Cricket Team (Credit: Getty Images)

Australia cricket team have announced their squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup scheduled to take place at home. The defending champions will hope to retain the trophy in front of home crowds. The marquee tournament will get underway on October 16 with the final scheduled to take place on November 13.

The Aussies have named hard-hitting all-rounder Tim David in the squad after formally completing the switch from Associate Member Singapore. He is the only change from Australia’s all-conquering 2021 T20 World Cup group, replacing spinner Mitch Swepson to give Aaron Finch another option with the bat.

David has been a revelation in T20 leagues across the world with his ability to play big shots in death overs. Chairman of Selectors George Bailey welcomed the new addition of David, with the omission of Swepson also down to team needs and conditions.

“Tim (David) continues to establish himself with some quality performances in leagues around the world, earning a place in the squad. He is a highly gifted, natural ball striker who will add extra batting depth to the group which has had a lot of success in T20 cricket,” he said. 

“We expect him to play a similar role to that he has been playing in the past few years,” Bailey added. 

Josh Hazlewood to spearhead Australia’s pace attack

Australia have stuck with the winning formula of last year, with No.1 T20I bowler Josh Hazlewood spearheading the attack. He also has Pat Cummins, Mitchell Stars, Kane Richardson by his side. Adam Zampa is the lone spinner in the side.

Australia will begin their T20 World Cup campaign begins in Sydney on October 22 when they take on trans-Tasman rivals New Zealand.

The Aussies will tour India for three T20Is, starting on September 21, with one minor change to the squad. David Warner will stay back at home as part of a managed period of preparation for a full summer schedule, with Cameron Green to replace the opener.

Australia T20 World Cup squad: Aaron Finch (c), Pat Cummins (vc), Ashton Agar, Tim David,Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.