Home Cricket News Australia Announce Their Playing XI For 1st Test Match Against South Africa

Australia Announce Their Playing XI For 1st Test Match Against South Africa

Australia Announce Their Playing XI For 1st Test Match Against South Africa
Australia cricket team. (Credit: Twitter)

Australia have announced they’re playing XI for the first Test match against South Africa. The iconic Gabba in Brisbane will host this encounter from December 17, 2022, onwards. The hosts will be brimming with confidence after a 2-0 win against the West Indies.

Pat Cummins returns to the captaincy stint after missing the second Test against West Indies due to an injury. The opening pair includes David Warner and Usman Khawaja, followed by Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, and Cameron Green.

Alex Carey will don the wicketkeeping gloves. Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, and Scott Boland will lead the charge in the pace bowling department. Nathan Lyon has been included as the main spinner.

Australia look to strengthen their top spot in ICC World Test Championship

Australia and South Africa will fight for a place in the finals of 2021-23 ICC World Test Championship final to be played in 2023. The Aussies is currently at the No.1 spot with 75 percentage points while South Africa is at the No.2 place with 60 percentage points.

The hosts will look to continue the brilliant form that they displayed against the West Indies side. It promises to be an exciting series between two top-quality bowling sides. Australia has Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Scott Boland, and Cameron Green that can create an impact with their bowling on a pitch that has bounce on offer.

Australia won the last match against England during the Ashes series at home by nine wickets and would look to continue their impressive form at The Gabba, Brisbane. The Aussies would look for their top batters like Warner, Smith, Labuschagne, and Travis Head to put pressure on top-quality South African pace bowling.

Veteran spinner Nathan Lyon would look to create an impact with his spin bowling keeping the pressure on the South African batters.

Australia’s playing XI first Test against South Africa: David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins (c), Mitchell Starc, Scott Boland, Nathan Lyon.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts