Home Cricket News Australia announces Test squad against Bangladesh

Australia announces Test squad against Bangladesh


Australian Cricket Board have announced a strong test squad to face Bangladesh in the two test match series starting from 22nd August. Australia will play a warm-up match on August 22nd and 23rd which will be followed by the first test match at Dhaka on 27th August. The second test will be played at Chittagong on 4th September.

The team will be led by Steve Smith. It is a strong unit with the likes of David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Peter Handscomb, Matt Renshaw. Australia will face a tough challenge in this tour with the pitches helpful for the spinners. Pat Cummins has been ruled out of the series due to an injury to his back. He will be replaced by Jackson. Australia played their last test series against India in February- March which the hosts India won by 2-1.

Mitchell Starc will not play in this series as he has not recovered yet from the injury. Mitchell Swepson has been called as a replacement for the fast bowler. In all-rounders section, Australia has three options to choose from which includes, Glenn Maxwell, Hilton Cartwright, Ashton Agar. Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Swepson, Ashton Agar. The wicketkeeping duties will be done by Matthew Wade. Steve O Keefe has been dropped.

Josh Hazlewood will lead the pace attack with Jackson Bird the other pace bowling option. It will be the biggest test for Australia to face a strong Bangladesh team in their own den. Australia visited Bangladesh last in 2006. It promises to be an exciting clash between one of the emerging teams and the other looking to improve their record in Asia.

Last year Australia did not visit Bangladesh due to security issues. Few days, the dispute between Cricket Association and players ended which gave green signal to this tour. Bangladesh defeated England in the test series last year by 2-0. Australia has to play positive cricket if they have to defeat a good Bangladesh side.

AUSTRALIA TEST SQUAD: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Ashton Agar, Jackson Bird, Hilton Cartwright, Pat Cummins, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Renshaw, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade

Schedule of the test series

Tour match 22nd-23rd August- Fathullah

1st test match, 27th-31st August- Dhaka

2nd test match, 4th Sept-8th Sept- Chittagong


Latest Posts