Home Cricket News SLvIND : Mendis & Karunaratne lead Sri Lanka”s fightback but India on...

SLvIND : Mendis & Karunaratne lead Sri Lanka”s fightback but India on top

After being bundled out for 183 in the first innings, the Sri Lankan batsmen show some fight as Kusal Mendis scored 105 while Karunanthe remained not out on 92. Despite that India still, lead Sri Lanka by 230 runs.

Starting on the overnight score of 50 for 2, the Sri Lankan innings got off to a worse start losing the wickets of Dinesh Chandimal and Angelo Mathews. The wicketkeeper batsmen Niroshan Dickwella played positive strokes. At the other end, Sri Lanka lost wickets at regular interval. Dickwella completed his fifty in 44 balls. He was dismissed by 51. Ravichandran Ashwin was the pick of the bowler with 5 wickets. Before the lunch break, Sri Lanka was dismissed for 183. Captain Kohli decided to follow on.

Following on, Sri Lankan lost an early wicket of Tharanga for 2 runs. After that Kusal Mendis and Karunanthe attacked the Indian spinners. It was an excellent display of batting by both these batsmen. Mendis completed his fifty in 53 balls while Karunanthe reached his fifty off 83 balls. Both continued to play the Indian bowlers with ease. At the end of the tea break, Sri Lanka were 118 for 1.

In the third session, both batsmen continued to play with attacking approach and never allowed them to settle. Kusal Mendis showed his brilliant sweeps to the Indian spinners which made life tough for the captain. Mendis completed his century in 120 balls. Before the stroke of play, Kusal Mendis was dismissed by Hardik Pandya who was brilliantly caught by Saha for 110 in 135 balls. Melinda Pushpkumara came as a night watch man who survived the day. Both of them added 191 runs for the second wicket.  Karunanthe remained not out on 92. Sri Lanka ended the 3rd day on 209 for 2 still trail India by 230 runs.

The Indian bowlers did a decent job but the pitch spinning, it will be tough ask for Sri Lankan batsmen to handle on the 4th day.

Sri Lanka 209 for 2 in 60 overs ( Kusal Mendis 105, Karunanthe 92*) and 183 in 49.4 overs ( Dickwella 51, R Ashwin 5/69 trail  India 622 for 9 in 158 overs ( Pujara 133, Rahane 132, Saha 67, Ravindra Jadeja 70*, R Hearth 4/154) by 230 runs