Cricket NewsIndia Tour Of Australia 2020-21

Australia Recall Nathan Lyon As They Make A Couple Of Changes For The Last Two T20Is Against India

Australia have added veteran spinner Nathan Lyon to their T20I squad for the last two T20Is against Indian Cricket Team, who have taken a 1-0 lead in the series. On the other hand, young all-rounder Cameron Green has been released from the squad to make him available for the practice game against India A which commences on December 6.

In the wake of the series-ending injury to left-arm spinner Ashton Agar, Lyon joins Mitchell Swepson as new additions to the T20 squad. Incidentally, Swepson was a shock inclusion for Friday’s series opener in Canberra, bowling alongside fellow leg-spinner Adam Zampa.

Australia add Nathan Lyon to T20I squad

Young Cameron Green, who is also a part of the Test squad will now focus on the red-ball cricket as Australia look to take revenge of their last time defeat when India toured in 2018-19. Green is one of seven Test squad members in the Australia A squad, joining Tim Paine, Joe Burns, Travis Head, Michael Neser, James Pattinson and Will Pucovski, who will ply their trade against India A at the Drummoyne Oval in Sydney.

Australia have suffered a couple of untimely injuries which makes the addition of Nathan Lyon significant. Ashton Agar (calf), David Warner (groin) and Pat Cummins (rested) have all been ruled out of the T20 series while allrounder Marcus Stoinis is nursing a side injury while Mitchell Starc (soreness) missed the third ODI last week.

On top of it, the hosts are awaiting the results of scans for skipper Aaron Finch, who suffered an injury to his hip/buttock region at Manuka Oval on Friday night. If the Aussie skipper is sidelined due to injury, it will be a massive blow to Australia and also it is unclear who will take over the leadership of the white-ball outfit.

The second and third T20I is scheduled to take place on December 6 (Sunday) and December 8 (Friday) at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

Also Read: Virender Sehwag Questions Virat Kohli’s Ploy Of Changing Playing XI Constantly

Australia T20 squad: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Alex Carey, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Sams, D’Arcy Short, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa

Ankush Das

I am an accountant by qualification, my parents thought their obedient son would study further to become a CA, but I had other things in mind. An ardent Cricket fan is following his passion and making a living watching and working around his favourite sport.

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: