Home Cricket News Australia set to tour Sri Lanka for 3 Tests, 5 ODIs and...

Australia set to tour Sri Lanka for 3 Tests, 5 ODIs and 2 T20Is

Australia set to tour Sri Lanka for 3 Tests, 5 ODIs and 2 T20Is: Australia”s tour of Sri Lanka has been announced with the three-Test series set to begin on 26 July in Kandy. During their two-month tour, Australia will play 5 One-Day Internationals, 3 Tests and 2 T20Is. This will be Australia’s first Test tour of Sri Lanka in 5 years.

Australia are currently on top of ICC Test rankings and will meet the struggling Lankans who are placed at No.7. Sri Lanka are having a hard-time after the retirement of some legends with the likes of Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardena.

The three Tests will be played in Pallekele, Galle and Colombo and will start on 26th July, 4th August and 13th August respectively.

Despite a poor year for Sri Lanka, opening batsman Joe Burns was under no illusions as to the sort of challenge they present in their own conditions. “When you’re facing world-class spinners in their own backyard on turning wickets, it’s a different proposition [to playing in Australia],” Burns said in March.

The one-day series begins with two ODIs in Khettarama, before moving on to two games in Dambulla, then the final one in Pallekele. The T20s are at Pallekele and Khettarama.


July 26-30: First Test, Pallekele
August 4-8: Second Test, Galle
August 13-17: Third Test, Colombo
August 21: First ODI, Colombo
August 24: Second ODI, Colombo
August 28: Third ODI, Dambulla
August 31: Fourth ODI, Dambulla
September 4: Fifth ODI, Kandy
September 6: First T20I, Kandy
September 9: Second T20I, Colombo