Home Feature Australia vs India 2020: 2nd T20I Preview: India Look For Series Win In Sydney

Australia vs India 2020: 2nd T20I Preview: India Look For Series Win In Sydney

Australia vs India 2020: 2nd T20I Preview: India Look For Series Win In Sydney
(Photo Credit: BCCI Twitter)

Team India look to go 2-0 up and win the series in Australia vs India 2020, 2nd T20I in Sydney. They won the first game in Canberra and hence lead the three-match series 1-0 heading into the second game. A win in the 2nd T20I will be India’s 10th straight in the format if they end on the right side of the result on Sunday. More about the second T20I preview in detail below.

2nd T20I: India Look For Series Win In Sydney

The Indian team is on a two-match winning streak after losing the first two ODIs against Australia. A good win in the first game also means that India have the much-needed momentum ahead of the second T20I as well. However, they have familiar problems facing them. Despite the win, concerns about their ideal number four and a sixth bowling option are the areas they would look to fill. Mohammed Shami especially was expensive as Virat Kohli missed a sixth bowling option desperately in the game. Thanks to concussion substitute Yuzvendra Chahal, Shami found a way to escape.

Batting-wise, Manish Pandey and Sanju Samson both had options to make the most of the opportunity, but neither of them them. Like almost every time, Samson threw away his wicket after a quick start and Pandey lost his wicket trying to up the ante.

Australia Face Injury Concerns

Australia, on the other hand, are facing a number of injury problems. They have suffered a couple of untimely injuries which makes the addition of Nathan Lyon significant. Ashton Agar (calf), David Warner (groin) and Pat Cummins (rested) have all been ruled out of the T20 series while allrounder Marcus Stoinis is nursing a side injury while Mitchell Starc (soreness) missed the third ODI last week.

The second T20I being a must-win for them to stay alive in the series, they must find a way to win. The batting will rest heavily on the shoulders of Steve Smith, now that Aaron Finch will miss the next game. He is failed in the first T20I after scoring back to back tons in the first two ODIs. It will be also interesting to see if he leads Australia in Finch’s absence.

Also Read: Aaron Finch Doubtful For All-Important 2nd T20I Against India

They have added Nathan Lyon in place of Cameron Green who will be released to play the practice game against India A for the Test series. Mitchell Starc, who had a good enough game will lead the bowling attack once again. Including Starc, they have a number of other bowling options with Lyon into the mix.

Head To Head

Out of the 20 T20Is played between both sides India have the upper hand. They have won 12 while the Aussies have won 8.

Pitch & Weather Conditions

If the ODI series is anything to go by, the SCG has plenty of runs in store in the second game. Both teams too have a number of very capable batsmen who can score big runs. The spinner might have a bigger role in the second innings than in the first. Weather-wise, conditions will be perfect for a good game of cricket with no rain threat.

Team News Ahead of 2nd T20I

For India, Ravindra Jadeja has been ruled out for the remaining T20Is with a hamstring injury. Shardul Thakur has been named as his replacement. With both Samson and Pandey failing, it will b interesting to see if Shreyas Iyer is given a go at number four. Also will be interesting to see if the Indian skipper will bring back Jasprit Bumrah in place of Mohammed Shami who had an off day.

Australia, too have roped in Nathan Lyon for the remaining two games. Aaron Finch is doubtful for the second game after picking up a hip injury while fielding. This makes a case for Alex Carey’s inclusion in place of Matthew Wade possibly. Nathan Lyon being included in the team is also expected to partner Zampa from one end.



Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Alex Carey, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Sams, D’Arcy Short, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa


KL Rahul (wk), Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Sanju Samson, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Shami, T Natarajan, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Shreyas Iyer, Mayank Agarwal, Navdeep Saini

Also Read: Ravindra Jadeja Ruled Out Of T20I Series After Suffering Concussion

Latest Posts