India Tour Of Australia 2020-21Cricket News

Australian Skipper Tim Paine Slams Umpire After Cheteshwar Pujara Survives Close Call

Tim Paine lost his cool and did have a confrontation with umpire Paul Wilson. 

Australian skipper Tim Paine lashed out at the onfield umpire after Indian batsman Cheteshwar Pujara survived a close call against Nathan Lyon during his innings. He also complained of double standards of umpiring after Pujara was seemingly dismissed but was still ruled not out. Pujara was batting on 10 when he was given a life by the onfield umpire Paul Wilson. Seeing that Pujara was given not out Paine decided to take the DRS. 

Third umpire Bruce Oxenford who was responsible for making the decision. The legside hotspot replays were blocked by Matthew Wade’s body, while the ultra edge which indicates the ball hit the bat, showed very small movement as the ball went past the bat. Third umpire Bruce Oxenford looked at the offside hotspot and eventually adjudged that Pujara had not edged the ball. This is when Tim Paine lost his cool and did have a confrontation with umpire Paul Wilson. 

Tim Paine Slams Umpire Paul Wilson

Replying to Tim Paine, Wilson said “I’m not the third umpire” before the Australia star responded by saying: “There’s no f***ing consistency Blocker. There’s a thing that goes past it” — suggesting there was a small spike on snicko as the ball moved past Pujara’s bat.

The reason why Paine was all the more angry was because he was wrongly ruled out in Sydney Test when he was not out. . He was dismissed after a review concluded there was “conclusive evidence” that he edged out. The on-field umpire had initially called it not out before Ajinkya Rahane reviewed the decision and got it in his team’s favour.

Also Read: Tim Paine Goofs Up a DRS Call

“I did not hit the ball in the second innings, it was pretty clear from my reaction, yeah I thought we had a pretty same example on day two with Pujara, it sets a precedent,” Paine had said after the incident.

“He did not look at enough replays to see that there was a gap between the bat and ball, the line itself had started before it passed my bat and then it finished again so it was just a lot of things that did not add up for me, I don’t think he took the time to look at the evidence, technology was okay for me,” he added.

Anshuman Roy

A cricket and sports enthusiast having previously worked with Cricwizz, Circle of Cricket, Times Now, The Quint and now with Cricfit.

Related Articles

Back to top button
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com