Home AUSvsIND AUSvIND: Cricket Australia announces a 14-man squad for the first Two tests...

AUSvIND: Cricket Australia announces a 14-man squad for the first Two tests against India

Australia Test team
(Photo by Ryan Pierse/Getty Images)

The hosts have won the first T20I against India yesterday by D/L method. As Kohli said in the press conference, India needs to turn around the things quickly at the MCG on Friday. As the focus majorly remains on the test side, an intense battle is on the cards starting from December 6.

Cricket Australia has announced the 14-man squad for the first two tests (Adelaide and Perth) today. Few tweaks are done as Victorian opener Marcus Harris earned his maiden test call-up.

Peter Handscomb ©Associated Press

Peter Handscomb, who hadn’t been a permanent member of the side, finally got a chance to feature in the Australian summer and it will be interesting whom will he replace. Chris Tremain gets an international call after his outing in South Africa back in 2016.

Marcus Harris ©Getty Images

No changes have been done to the bowling line-up as the selectors chose to stick with New South Wales bowling line-up of Starc, Hazelwood, Cummins and Lyon. However, James Pattinson who was expected to be under the radar of selectors couldn’t get an opportunity.

Chris Tremain (Photo by Scott Barbour/Getty Images)

The other members were retained from the side that toured UAE for the series against Pakistan. Though there were comments from critics for the exclusion of Marsh brothers, their recent performances for Western Australian side in the domestic cricket have helped them to cement their spots in the side.

Shaun Marsh and Mitchell Marsh (Photo by Francois Nel/Getty Images)

As the list suggests, Khawaja has ensured his availability after an injury sustained in the Pakistan series.

The first test will be played from December 6 at Adelaide. India will also play a practice game starting 28th of this month prior to it to get accustomed to the conditions.

Australia Test squad for first two Tests against India: Aaron Finch, Marcus Harris, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine (capt), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon, Chris Tremain, Peter Siddle