Home Cricket News BAN vs SL 2022: Shakib Al Hasan Tests Covid Positive, Gets Ruled...

BAN vs SL 2022: Shakib Al Hasan Tests Covid Positive, Gets Ruled Out Of First Test

Shakib Al Hasan
Shakib Al Hasan (Credit: Twitter)

Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan has tested positive for the covid-19 virus. He has been ruled out of the first Test against Sri Lanka, as reported by the Bangladesh Cricket Board.

Shakib Al Hasan returned from the United States on Tuesday and underwent tests. He was supposed to join the team on Wednesday. However, the all-rounder tested positive in a PCR and a rapid antigen test. The Bangladesh Cricket Board, in their press release, stated that Shakib will recover in isolation and will be re-tested.

“Both tests have returned positive results. He will now recover in self-isolation and will be re-tested in due course. He has been ruled out of the first test,” the Bangladesh Cricket Board said in their statement.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by ESPNcricinfo (@espncricinfo)

Earlier, Shakib had skipped the New Zealand series citing personal reasons. He also missed Bangladesh’s previous Test match against South Africa due to a family emergency. The all-rounder will have to wait to complete isolation and test negative to make a comeback to the team. Meanwhile, Bangladesh has not named a replacement for Shakib Al Hasan.

Sri Lanka’s tour of Bangladesh, 2022

The two-match Test series will begin on May 15, with Chattogram hosting the first test. The second match will take place in Dhaka between May 23-27. Recently, Bangladesh added Mosaddek Hossain and Nayeem Hassan to the squad.

Sri Lanka Squad for first Test: Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Kamil Mishara, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya De Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella, Dinesh Chandimal, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Suminda Lakshan, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lasith Embuldeniya.

Bangladesh squad for first Test: Mominul Haque (c), Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Yasir Ali, Taijul Islam, Nayeem Hasan, Ebadot Hossain, Khaled Ahmed, Nurul Hasan, Rejaur Rahman Raja, Shohidul Islam, Shoriful Islam (subject to fitness), Mosaddek Hossain.

Get the latest cricket news here and like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.