Home Cricket News Bangladesh Spin Bowling Coach Rangana Herath Tests Covid Positive, Team Advised 3-Day...

Bangladesh Spin Bowling Coach Rangana Herath Tests Covid Positive, Team Advised 3-Day Quarantine

Rangana Herath
Photo Credit: (Twitter/BCB)

The Bangladesh vs New Zealand series seems in jeopardy after The Tigers’ spin bowling coach Rangana Herath tested COVID positive. As per reports in ESPN Cricinfo, Herath developed mild symptoms and the entire team has been asked to go under three-day mandatory quarantine. 


This happened after eight other players from the Bangladesh team were also put into isolation with another person from their flight to Christchurch having tested positive. The rest of the squad has started training in Lincoln. This was mandated by New Zealand health authorities, with the players initially part of a managed isolation protocol.

Official Statement By BCB On Rangana Herath

Rangana Herath tests positive for Covid in Christchurch - NewsWire

The BCB CEO Nizamuddin Chowdhury has given a statement following Herath testing positive. 

“We’re maintaining the existing protocols. We will get a clear picture tomorrow (December 17) as they have taken a few samples today and the results are due. Since the players are isolated, hopefully, no other complications will arise. This is part of the new reality” Chowdhury said. 

Nz vs Ban

Bangladesh are set to take on New Zealand in a two-test series part of the WTC cycle 2021-23, beginning New Year’s Day in 2022. The first Test will be played at the Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui while the second Test will be played at Christchurch’s Hagley Oval.

The Tigers head into this series following a Test series loss against Pakistan by a margin of 2-0 at home. Bangladesh have been pegged back as Shakib Al Hasan has opted out of the series due to personal reasons. 

The Kiwis head into this series on the back of a Test series loss against India in India. 

Bangladesh squad for the New Zealand Test series: Mominul Haque (capt), Shadman Islam, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Liton Das, Nurul Hasan, Yasir Ali, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Abu Jayed, Ebadat Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Khaled Ahmed, Shohidul Islam, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Mohammad Naim

Get the latest cricket news here and like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.