Home Cricket News Baroda Announce Squad For Vijay Hazare Trophy; Krunal Pandya To Lead

Baroda Announce Squad For Vijay Hazare Trophy; Krunal Pandya To Lead

Vijay Hazare Trophy Baroda Krunal Pandya-ICC T20 World Cup
Photo Credit: (BCCI)

Team India all-rounder Krunal Pandya will lead Baroda in the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy, Baroda Cricket Association (BCA) confirmed. Incidentally, the tournament will commence on February 20 and will run in six cities across India.

Meanwhile, Baroda are placed in Elite Group A for the domestic ODI tournament alongside Gujarat, Chhattisgarh, Hyderabad, Tripura, and Goa. They will be playing their matches in Surat. After losing to Tamil Nadu in the finals of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, Baroda will be desperate to go all the way and win the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Krunal Pandya to lead Baroda

Krunal Pandya, who led the side in the domestic T20 competition before leaving the bubble to attend his father’s last rites midway to the competition. The squad comprises opener Kedar Devdhar, who not only performed well in the Mushtaq Ali Trophy but also led the team to the final in Krunal’s absence.

Also Read: Mumbai Announce Squad For Vijay Hazare Trophy; Shreyas Iyer To Lead

The squad also comprises batsmen Vishnu Solanki, Abhimanyusingh Rajput, and young wicket-keeper batsman Smit Patel along with all-rounder Babasafi Pathan. Atit Sheth (right-arm medium pacer) and Lukman Meriwala (left-arm speedster) will lead the pace attack while the trio of Ninad Rathwa (left-arm orthodox spinner), off-spinner Kartik Kakade, and slow-left arm spinner Bhargav Bhatt will look after the spin department.

Baroda will open their Vijay Hazare Trophy journey against Goa on February 20, 2021, in Surat.

Also Read: Bengal Announce Squad For Vijay Hazare Trophy; Manoj Tiwary Not Named

Baroda Squad for Vijay Hazare Trophy

Krunal Pandya (Captain), Kedar Devdhar (Vice-Captain), Pratyushkumar, Vishnu Solanki, Abhimanyusingh Rajput, Smit Patel (WK), Ninad Rathwa, Atit Sheth, Kartik Kakade, Lukman Meriwala, Babasafi Pathan, Dhruv Patel, Bhargav Bhatt, Bhanu Pania, Chintal Gandhi, Parth Kohli, Jyotsnil Singh, Mitesh Patel (WK), Soeb Sopariya, Shivalik Sharma, Pradeep Yadav, and Pratik Ghodedra.