Home Cricket News Bengal Announce Squad For Vijay Hazare Trophy; Manoj Tiwary Not Named

Bengal Announce Squad For Vijay Hazare Trophy; Manoj Tiwary Not Named

Bengal Announce Squad For Vijay Hazare Trophy; Manoj Tiwary Not Named
(Credits: PTI)

With the Vijay Hazare Trophy all set to commence from February 20, Bengal have announced their 18-member squad for the domestic 50-over tournament. Incidentally, senior batsman Manoj Tiwary has been left out of the squad owing to injury issues.

After a faulty performance in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy last month, the Bengal management will be desperate to put up a good show in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. As a result, they have named a star-studded side under the leadership of Anushtup Majumdar, who also led the side in the domestic T20 competition.

Former captain Abhimanyu Easwaran, IPL boys Shahbaz Ahmed and Ishan Porel are all part of the contingent. However, Easwaran’s participation remains in doubt as he is currently with the India squad as a standby for the first two Tests against England.

Anushtup Majumdar to lead Bengal

Meanwhile, this will be the first time in a very very long time, Bengal will miss the service of Manoj Tiwary, who is currently nursing a knee injury. This will be a massive blow to the side and the likes of skipper Anushtup, Sudip Chatterjee, and Abhishek Rama will have to lift their game to nullify the void.

Also Read: BCCI To Kick Off Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021 From February 20-Reports

Bengal’s pace attack comprising of Ishan Porel, Mukhesh Kumar, and Akashdeep have done exceedingly well in recent times and the management will hope they deliver the goods again while the spin department will be on the shoulders of Shahbaz Nadeem, Writtick Chatterjee, and senior campaigner Arnav Nandi.

Bengal is in Group E alongside Saurashtra, Services, Jammu & Kashmir, Haryana, Chandigarh and the matches will take place in Kolkata.

Full squad: Anustup Majumdar (captain), Shreevats Goswami (vice-captain), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Writtick Chatterjee, Vivek Singh, Abhishek Raman, Sudip Chatterjee, Kaif Ahmad, Ritwik Roy Chowdhury, Shahbaz Ahmed, Arnab Nandi, Mukesh Kumar, Akashdeep, Ishan Porel, Md. Kaif, Pradipta Pramanik, Aritra Chatterjee, Sayan Ghosh, Suvankar Bal, Sudip Kumar Gharami, Sumanta Gupta

Also Read: Prithvi Shaw, Arjun Tendulkar Included Among 100 Players Selected For Vijay Hazare Trophy Camp

Latest Posts