Home Cricket News BCCI announced India U19 squad for ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2018 in New Zealand

BCCI announced India U19 squad for ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2018 in New Zealand


The BCCI has announced the India Under 19 squad for the World Cup 2018 to be held in New Zealand from January 13th to 3rd February. Young Prithvi Shaw will lead the squad. It is a good squad which has lots of experience of playing in international matches. Shaw has been in brilliant form for Mumbai in 2017/18 Ranji Season and will be playing for Mumbai in the quarterfinals against Karnataka from 7th December.

Young Punjab batsman Shubham Gill has been named the vice-captain of the squad. Himanshu Rana, Abshiek Sharma, Riyan Parag. They have gone with two wicketkeepers with Aryan Juyal and Harvik Desai.

Bengal young bowler Ishan Porel who performed well in league stages has been included. Arshdeep Singh, Ankul Roy, Shiva Singh and Pankaj Yadav are the bowlers included. Rahul Dravid will coach this team. India Under 19 lost to Nepal and Bangladesh in Under 19 Asia Cup. They were without Shaw and Shubam Gill in that tournament.

India has been grouped with Australia, Zimbabwe, and PNG in group B. Both India and Australia have won the Under 19 World 3 times each. It is a great squad which can perform very well in good bowling conditions in New Zealand. Last time, India Under 19 lost to West Indies in the finals held at Bangladesh 2016. India will be looking to win the title this time with good performances. They have done very in Under 19 format whitewashing England in their home den 5-0 this year.

Om Bhosle, Rahul Chahar, Ninad Rathva, Urvil Patel and Aditya Thakare are 5 players who have been made as standby players in case of injuries.

It promises to be a cracking tournament with young talents giving their all to win the prestigious title for their country. India plays their first game on 14th January against Australia, against PNG on 16th January and final group match against Zimbabwe on 19th January. They are one of the strong contenders to win the Under 19 World Cup this time too.

Here we look at the India Under 19 squad Prithivi Shaw (C), Shubham Gill, (VC), Manjot Kalra, Himanshu Rana, Abhishek Sharma, Ryan Parag, Aryan Juyal (WK), Harvik Desai (WK), Shivam Mavi, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Ishan Porel, Arshdeep Singh, Anukul Roy, Shiva Singh and Pankaj Yadav.

Latest Posts