Home Cricket News BCCI Announces Equal Match Fee For Men And Women Cricketers

BCCI Announces Equal Match Fee For Men And Women Cricketers

BCCI Announces Equal Match Fee For Men And Women Cricketers
Photo: BCCI

In a historic move to promote equality in Indian cricket, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), on Thursday, announced equal match fees for the centrally contracted men and women cricketers. The BCCI secretary, Jay Shah, took to social media to announce the development.

Earlier, this year, the New Zealand Cricket (NZC) struck a deal with the New Zealand Players’ association, to promote equality. They agreed on a five-year deal to award both the men and the women cricketers equal pay. Following their footsteps, the BCCI has also announced the decision of equal match fees for the cricketers.

“I’m pleased to announce @BCCI’s first step towards tackling discrimination. We are implementing pay equity policy for our contracted @BCCIWomen cricketers. The match fee for both Men and Women Cricketers will be same as we move into a new era of gender equality in (Indian flag emoji) Cricket,” Jay Shah wrote on Twitter. 

Pay equity was my commitment to our women cricketers: Jay Shah

The Board of Control for Cricket in India secretary, Jay Shah, further expressed that equal pay was his commitment to women cricketers. He also thanked the BCCI Apex Council for approving the historic decision.

According to the structure, the women cricketers will now also get the same match fee as their male counterparts, i.e. Test (INR 15 lakhs), ODI (INR 6 lakhs), T20I (INR 3 lakhs).

The BCCI earlier this year, also announced the Women’s Indian Premier League. The plans to conduct the inaugural season of the tournament are underway. The board is looking at March 2023 window for the season. The tournament will feature six teams in its maiden edition.

The Indian women’s cricket team recently won the Asia Cup, defeating Sri Lanka by eight wickets. Earlier, they also won the Silver Medal at the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, losing to Australia in the finals.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts