Home Cricket News BCCI Announces India’s T20I Squad For England Series

BCCI Announces India’s T20I Squad For England Series

BCCI Announces India’s T20I Squad For England Series
Indian Cricket Team (Credit: Twitter)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the squad for the three-match T20I series against England. It will precede the rescheduled fifth Test, which will get underway on July 1 at Edgbaston in Birmingham. This will be India’s first series after where all the first-choice players will be available. However, the selectors have rested the Test cricketers from the first T20I. The selectors had also rested the all-format players for the last two T20I series against South Africa and Ireland.

Rohit Sharma, who will miss the rescheduled Test against England due to COVID-19, will return to lead the side in the white-ball leg. Umran Malik, who made his international debut in the recently concluded series against Ireland, has retained his place in the squad. However, Arshdeep Singh has not been considered.

Rahul Tripathi, who was picked up for the Ireland series on the back of a superlative IPL 2022 campaign, has also retained his place. The right-handed batter will hope to get some game time after warming the bench in the two T20Is against the Irish side.

The second and third game of the series will see the return of all top-guns, including Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah and Rishabh Pant. With the entire squad at disposal, the management will hope to fix the puzzle for the T20 World Cup.

Meanwhile, KL Rahul, who suffered a groin injury ahead of the five-match T20I series against South Africa, will miss the white-ball leg of the England series.

This series will be the Indian youngsters another opportunity to make a case for themselves ahead of the T20 World Cup in Australia later this year. The three T20Is are scheduled to take place on July 7, 9 and 10 in Southampton, Birmingham and Nottingham respectively.

India’s squad for 1st T20I: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

India’s squad for 2nd and 3rd T20I: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik

Get the latest cricket news here and like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts