BCCI has announced the squad for the first two ODI”s against Windies. Rishabh Pant who proved his mettle in longer formats is all set to represent in blues. However, reports regarding Dhoni”s exclusion proved to be false as “Thala” is back.

Rohit and Dhawan who haven”t donned whites are back to their opening duties. The star opening combo provided the blitz in every match of Asia cup and selectors aren”t interested to give them a break.

© Getty Images/AFP/AP

Five Reasons why MS Dhoni’s inclusion is vital in the 2019 World Cup

Hardik Pandya and Kedar Jadhav succumbed to injuries in the recently concluded Asia Cup. This prompted the management to include Ravindra Jadeja in the side who made a brilliant comeback in the Asia Cup after a long break.  Rayudu and Pandey made sure to cement their places in the squad which gives them to show their prowess in the middle order.

Captain  Kohli who was given some time off the game is finally back to the squad and it will be interesting where Rayudu/Pandey will bat. Khaleel Ahmed, who showed signs of maturity against Hong Kong has been included. It”s really up to the youngster to fill the boots of the third pacer.

West Indies announces ODI & T20I squad For India Series

(Photo by AP Photo/Aijaz Rahi)

Shami and Shardul are the other pacers with Kul-cha (Kuldeep-Chahal) assisting them from the other end.

Bhuvaneshwar Kumar and Bumrah haven”t been named in the side and there aren”t any reasons for the same. However, it can be assumed that the key pacers are getting some rest ahead of the crucial overseas tour against Australia.

India might play two games in Australia on the same day


The series commences on October 21 and it will really be a hectic task for the windies side who will be missing the services of the universe Boss “Gayle”.

Indian Squad for first 2 ODIs against WI: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (wk), Rishabh Pant, R Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Khaleel Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, KL Rahul