Home Cricket News Brett Lee Names Uncapped Players Who Impressed The Most In IPL 2020

Brett Lee Names Uncapped Players Who Impressed The Most In IPL 2020

Brett Lee Virat Kohli
Brett Lee (Credit: Twitter)

The 13th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) has brought many uncapped players into the limelight. The tournament rightly justified its tagline, ‘where talent meets opportunity’. Recently, former Australia cricketer Brett Lee picked uncapped players who impressed him the most.


From Rahul Tewatia to Devdutt Padikkal to Kartik Tyagi, many youngsters have emerged from IPL 2020 and have earned praise from former cricketers. Cricketer-turned-commentator Brett Lee, who was one of the experts for the official broadcasters admitted that he was impressed with two uncapped cricketers.

Brett Lee picks two uncapped players

Interacting with Star Sports, Lee revealed that Devdutt Padikkal and Rahul Tewatia were the two uncapped Indian cricketers, who impressed him the most. Incidentally, Padikkal has won the Emerging Players award for his scintillating show with the bat.

“It has been incredible. It has been hard with no fans, but to me, the best part of this season has been the young Indian players coming through. The Devdutt Padikkals, the Tewatias… We have seen the Delhi Capitals play some really good cricket, so, I will say the fast bowlers too, but I will always say the fast bowlers,” Brett Lee said while speaking to Star Sports.

Also Read: Best Uncapped XI of IPL 2020

Padikkal finished as the highest run-getter for RCB which boasts of having legends like Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers and Aaron Finch on their side. Padikkal accumulated 473 runs in 15 games at 31.53 with five half-centuries while maintaining a strike rate of 124. Recently, BCCI President Sourav Ganguly said that the stylish left-handed batsman will soon play for India.

On the other hand, Rajasthan Royals’ Rahul Tewatia stunned the whos who of the cricketing fraternity accumulating 255 runs in 14 matches at a strike rate of 139 and picking up ten wickets.