Home Cricket News Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan Back In England Squad For Pakistan T20Is

Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan Back In England Squad For Pakistan T20Is

Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan Back In England Squad For Pakistan T20Is
CENTURION, SOUTH AFRICA - FEBRUARY 16: The England team pose for a photo after victory in the series during the Third T20 International match between South Africa and England at Supersport Park on February 16, 2020 in Centurion, South Africa. (Photo by Dan Mullan/Getty Images)

The English and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has announced a 14-man squad to take on Pakistan in a T20 series. The three-match series will take place in Old Trafford which still remains the hub for the bio-secure environment for the England side.

Meanwhile, England has dropped opening batsmen James Vince from the side owing to low performances; whereas pacer Chris Jordan and top-order batsmen Dawid Malan have been recalled to the squad. Eoin Morgan will captain the young side which is very similar to the side that played versus Ireland previously.

England name squad for Pakistan T20Is

National Selector Ed Smith reasoned non-selection of players like Joe Root and Joe Buttler in the T20 side since they’re already part of the Test side in a biosecure bubble. Smith also opined that the panel wanted to give some rest to the all-format players.

“In this crowded international summer, players who are currently in the Test match bio-secure bubble for the Pakistan Test series are not included in this squad.

We want to give multi-format players some opportunity to rest and refresh, while still selecting strong squads for every series. We will announce the squad for the Australia T20 series at a later date,” National Selector Ed Smith in an official statement.

Dawid Malan made a return to the squad

The ECB also announced that Graham Thorpe will be England’s head coach in the absence of Chris Silverwood. Meanwhile, former all-rounder Paul Collingwood will assist Thorpe in the series. Jon Lewis will be the bowling coach and will be assisted by Azhar Mahmood. On the other hand, Marcus Trescothick will act as the batting coach of the side.

The final Test between England and Pakistan will commence from August 21 at Southampton. On the other hand, the T20 series will begin on the 29th of August at Old Trafford, Manchester.

England Squad for Pakistan T20Is

Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Lewis Gregory, Chris Jordan, Saqib Mahmood, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, David Willey.

Latest Posts