Home Cricket News Who Is The Coach Of The Indian Cricket Team?

Who Is The Coach Of The Indian Cricket Team?

Who Is The Coach Of The Indian Cricket Team?

Team India has become a dominant force in World Cricket over the years. The likes of Sachin Tendulkar, Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev, Mithali Raj, Virat Kohli, Jhulan Goswami, and others have contributed to helping the country achieve greater heights. Along with the players, Team India has also been blessed with great coach, whose mentorship helped the players to perform to their potential.

Former cricketer Lalchand Rajput was the Indian men’s team head coach when they won the inaugural 2007 T20 World Cup. Under Gary Kirsten, they lifted their second ODI World Cup in 2011. Former cricketer Tushar Arothe’s mentorship led the Indian Women’s cricket team to the 2017 ODI World Cup final. On that note, let’s take a look at the current coaches of the Indian Men’s and Women’s cricket teams.

Who is the coach of the Men’s Indian Cricket Team?

Former India cricketer Rahul Dravid was appointed as the head coach of the men’s Indian cricket team in November 2021. He is a stalwart in world cricket, scoring over 24000 International runs for Team India. In 2021, the Cricket Advisory Committee which comprised Ms. Sulakshana Naik and Mr. RP Singh took the decision unanimously. Dravid took over the baton from Ravi Shastri, under who India achieved several historic wins. He began his tenure with the home T20I series against New Zealand.

Earlier, the former cricketer was the coach of the India A and Under-19 teams and was also at the National Cricket Academy. Rahul Dravid was the interim coach of Team India in the limited-over series in Sri Lanka. The team won the ODI series 2-1 but lost the T20Is by the same margin. Along with Rahul Dravid, Vikram Rathour, T Dileep and Paras Mhambrey form the coaching group of Team India.

Vikram Rathour, the batting coach, took over the reins from Sanjay Bangar in 2019. His tenure ended after India’s T20 World Cup exit in 2021, but he re-applied for the post. Meanwhile, Paras Mhambrey was appointed as the bowling coach of the team, with the fielding department being looked after by T Dileep. Mhambrey was the bowling coach for both India A team and U19 Indian cricket team until November 2021.

Who is the coach of the Women’s Indian Cricket Team?

Former India cricketer Hrishikesh Kanitkar is the interim head coaches of the Indian Women’s cricket team. He played two Test matches and 34 ODI matches for the country. Kanitkar was earlier the batting coach and later took over as the head coach after Ramesh Powar was removed from the position, two months before the 2023 T20 World Cup. Powar joined the National Cricket Academy.

While Hrishikesh Kanitkar’s appointment has not been officially announced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India, he was mentioned as the head coaches by the ICC. Meanwhile, Abhay Sharma is the fielding coach of the Indian Women’s cricket team. He earlier worked as the fielding coach of the India A and India Under-19s men’s teams. Abhay was appointed the fielding coach in 2021.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts