Home Cricket News Melbourne To Host Boxing Day Test As Cricket Australia Announces Full Schedule...

Melbourne To Host Boxing Day Test As Cricket Australia Announces Full Schedule Against India

India Australia tour schedule
Virat Kohli and Tim Paine (Credit: Getty Images)

The much-awaited series of the year between India and Australia is just round the corner and Cricket Australia (CA) has finally announced the full schedule of the jumbo tour. With Victoria out of lockdown, Melbourne Cricket Ground will host the Boxing Day Test as CA revealed the schedule in a statement.

On the other hand, Adelaide, Sydney and Brisbane will be the other three venues for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy. The series will start at the Adelaide Oval and the first pink-ball day-night Test between the sides. Meanwhile, the India tour of Australia will kick-off with the limited-overs series.

Melbourne to host Boxing Day Tests

The Sydney Cricket Ground will host the first two ODIs (November 27 and 29) before the teams move to Canberra for the third and final ODI (December 2). The first T20I will also be played at the Manuka Oval in Canberra (December 4), when the teams will return to Sydney for the final two T20Is (December 6 and 8).

Also Read: India Tour Of Australia 2020: 3 Deserving Players Who Missed Out From Limited-Overs Squad

India will land in Sydney on November 12 after the conclusion of the Indian Premier League. Following that, the team will remain in a 14-day quarantine. However, the New South Wales Government has allowed Virat Kohli & Co to train in small groups with no restrictions on the number of people.

Cricket Australia’s interim chief executive officer Nick Hockley thanked the Board of Control for Cricket in India for helping them give the tour life. He is also hopeful that they can continue the tour in a safe and successful manner.

“We have worked closely with the BCCI for many months to bring this tour to life, and I cannot speak more highly of the professional, thorough and collaborative manner with which they have approached this tour in these extraordinary and complex times,” said Nick Hockley, CA’s Interim Chief Executive Officer.

Also Read: Full Squad Of Team India’s ODIs and T20s For Australia Tour Announced

“I would like to express my gratitude to everyone at the BCCI for the faith and support they have shown in the plan we have developed, which we believe will result in a safe and successful summer for all involved,” he added.

Here is the full schedule for India’s tour of Australia 2020:

Match Dates Venue
1st ODI Nov 27 Sydney Cricket Ground
2nd ODI Nov 29 Sydney Cricket Ground
3rd ODI Dec 2 Manuka Oval, Canberra
1st T20I Dec 4 Manuka Oval, Canberra
2nd T20I Dec 6 Sydney Cricket Ground
3rd T20I Dec 8 Sydney Cricket Ground
Practice match Dec 6-8 Drummoyne Oval, Sydney
Practice match Dec 11-13 (D/N) Sydney Cricket Ground
1st Test Dec 17-21 (D/N) Adelaide Oval
2nd Test Dec 26-30 Melbourne Cricket Ground
3rd Test Jan 7-11 Sydney Cricket Ground
4th Test Jan 15-19 Gabba, Brisbane