CWC19: England left out Jofra Archer from World Cup Squad

The England Cricket Board have announced a strong 15-man squad for the ICC World Cup 2019 to be played in England and Wales starting from 30th May 2019.

After the first-round exit in the 2015 World Cup played in New Zealand and Australia, the England cricket team have transformed their brand of cricket. Under the captaincy of Eoin Morgan, it comprises of top-quality openers in the form of Jason Roy and Jonny Bairstow. Alex Hales, Captain Eoin Morgan, Jos Buttler comprise of explosive middle order batsmen.

(Photo by AP Photo/Ricardo Mazalan)

Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, are the all-rounders who can change the course of the game with their batting and bowling.

In the pace bowling department, Tom Curran, Liam Plunkett, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood would lead the charge in the tournament. Adil Rashid, Moeen Ali and Joe Denly have been included by the England Cricket Board for the prestigious tournament.

© Getty Images

Eoin Morgan includes two Indians in his All-time playing XI

England have never a major ICC tournament. Under the captaincy of Eoin Morgan, the hosts reached the semi-finals of Champions Trophy 2017, losing to Pakistan by a massive margin. Since the World Cup 2015 exit, England have the record of 2 highest score in One day international cricket. They scored 444 for 3 against Pakistan in 2016 and then posted the highest ever total of 481 for 6 in 50 overs against Australia last year.

(Photo by RANDY BROOKS/AFP/Getty Images)

In 2019, West Indies levelled the 5 match- ODI series against number 1 ranked ODI side, England. Before the World Cup begins, England will take on Pakistan in T20I and 5 match ODI series starting from 5th May.

England has scored 4 times 400 plus scores since the 2015 World Cup first-round exit. They would be looking to continue their brilliant form in Pakistan series at home. The hosts are going into the tournament as the favourites to win the World Cup for the first time.

England will start the tournament against South Africa on 30th May 2019.

World Cup squad:  Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (C), Jos Buttler (WK), Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, Tom Curran, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Denly, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here