CWC19: Pakistan, Sri Lanka & South Africa announces Their Squads; Star Players Dropped

Pakistan, Sri Lanka and South Africa have named their squads for the prestigious 2019 Cricket World Cup to be played in England and Wales starting from 30th May.

England left out Jofra Archer from World Cup Squad

Mohammad Amir not included in Pakistan team 


Pakistan has announced their 15-man squad for World Cup 2019. The team will be led by Sarfaraz Ahmed.

The team comprises of three openers namely Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman and Abid Ali. Babar Azam, experienced Shoaib Malik, Mohammed Hafeez subject to fitness comprise of the middle order.

Mohammad Amir Reveals His Most Special Wicket

Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Faheem Ashraf have been included as the all-rounders for WC 2019. Shadab Khan and Imad Wasim are the two spinners in the team. Shaheen Shah Afridi, Junaid Khan, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Hasnain have been included as the pacers. Usman Shinwari, Asif Ali and Mohammad Rizwan have been dropped from the squad.

After the 2017 Champions Trophy match-winning performance in the finals against India, Amir has taken only 5 wickets from 101 overs.

(Photo by: AFP PHOTO / Jekesai NJIKIZANA)

Pakistan has won only 1 World Cup in 1992 under the captaincy of Imran Khan. They had a disappointing 2015 WC as they lost in the quarterfinals.

Mohammad Amir picks his best batsman in World Cricket

In 2019, Pakistan have lost the ODI series to South Africa 2-3 and then were whitewashed by Australia 0-5. Before the World Cup, Pakistan will take on England in a 5 match ODI series.

Pakistan opening match of the tournament will be against West Indies on 31st May 2019 at Trent Bridge, Nottingham.

Pakistan World Cup squad: Imam UL- Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Abid Ali, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Mohammed Hafeez (Subject to fitness), Sarfaraz Ahmed(C), Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Imad Wasim, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Hasnain, Harris Sohail.

Six Fittest Cricketers in the World Cricket

Dimuth Karunarante appointed as the captain of the Sri Lankan team for World Cup

(Photo by Phil Walter/Getty Images)

After losing the ODI series to New Zealand by 0-3 and then whitewashed by South Africa 0-5 in 2019, Sri Lanka has named Dimuth Karunarante as the captain of World Cup 2019.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Niroshan Dickwella, Akila Danajaya, openers Danushka Gunathilkha, and Upul Tharanga have been dropped for the meanwhile.

11 Lesser known facts about Lasith Malinga

Lahiru Thirimanne, Jeevan Mendis, Jeffrey Vandersay, Milinda Siriwardana have been included in the team. Angelo Mathews makes a return to the World Cup squad after serious of injuries. He will be hoping to stay injury free and help Sri Lanka go past the first round.

© Getty Images

Sri Lanka won the 1996 World Cup under the captaincy of Arjuna Ranatunga. Since the retirement of greats like Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, TM Dilshan, Sri Lanka have been struggling. In the last 2 years, they have appointed 6 different captains in ODI cricket.

Oshada Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Wanindu Hasaranga and Angelo Perera will also travel with the team. Sri Lanka will take on New Zealand in their opening match on 1st June at Sophia Garden’s, Cardiff.

Sri Lanka”s World Cup squad: Dimuth Karunarante (C), Avishka Fernando, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Mendis (WK), Kusal Perera (WK), Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Thisara Perera, Isuru Udana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Jeevan Mendis, Milinda Siriwardana, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep.

Rohit Sharma extends his association with this brand

South Africa announce a strong 15-man squad

© Getty Images

South Africa has announced a strong 15-man squad for World Cup 2019. Faf du Plessis will lead the side in the prestigious tournament. Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Aiden Markram have been included as the three openers.

Rassie Van der Dussen, the experienced JP Duminy, David Miller are the middle order batsman included in the team. Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius has been included as all-rounders who can bowl and bat a little bit.

Dale Steyn, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, are the four quality pace bowlers in the squad. Shamsi and Imran Tahir are the two genuine spinners included by South Africa.

© Getty Images

Chris Morris and Reeza Hendricks are the unlucky ones to miss out in the 15-man preliminary squad.

South Africa has been performing brilliantly off late winning ODI series against Zimbabwe at home, Australia away. They lost the ODI series to India by 1-5. South Africa then defeated Pakistan 3-2 and whitewashed Sri Lanka 5-0 at home recently.

Here’s The Full Schedule of ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

South Africa reached the semi-finals of 2015 World Cup losing to New Zealand in the close-fought encounter. AB de Villiers has announced his retirement from international cricket and will not take part in WC 2019.

The Proteas chokes under pressure and has not won a major ICC event. South Africa will open the tournament against England on 30th May.

South African 15-man World Cup squad: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Aiden Markram, Rassie Van der Dussen, David Miller, JP Duminy, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Dale Steyn, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Imran Tahir, Tabraiz Shamsi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here