Sri Lankan batsman Danushka Gunathilaka was controversially ruled out for “obstructing the field” in the first ODI against West Indies in Antigua. Though West Indies won the match, but Gunathilaka’s run-out was the talking point of the game. The dismissal turned out to be crucial in the context of the game as the Lankans could only post only 232 runs on the board and lost by eight wickets. The ODI series started after the Windies won the T20I series 2-1.
Kieron Pollard, the Windies skipper bowled a delivery at Gunathilaka who played the ball and looked for a single. In the process, he seemed to have kicked the ball from Pollard’s reach with his feet.
The Windies skipper appealed and the decision was sent to the third umpire. Meanwhile, the soft signal of the on-field umpires was out and the decision was upheld by the third umpire as well. Mickey Arthur, the Lankan head coach, wasn’t happy and he had a chat with the match officials. Later Sri Lankan skipper Dimuth Karunaratne spoke about his teammate’s controversial dismissal.
“We got a nice start but lost a few wickets, especially the run-outs, so that was crucial. We were short of 30-40 runs, and me and Danushka could have batted longer – it would’ve been a different story,” Karunaratne was quoted as saying after the game.
He also stated that Gunathilaka’s dismissal changed the course of the match to a large extent. “230 is not a good score, and they didn’t panic at all in the chase, that’s why we needed 280+. Gunathilaka got out at the wrong time and that was a key wicket triggering the collapse,” he added.
Sri Lanka from being 2-112 were bowled out for 232 in 49 overs. West Indies surpassed that total with Shai Hope making 110 and his opening partner Evin Lewis adding 65. They added 143 runs for the first wicket before Darren Bravo and Jason Mohammed took them home. The second of the three-match ODI series is on March 12 in Antigua.
This is how Twitter reacted to Danushka Gunathilaka’s Controversial Run Out
Just saw it….oh please! Not out
— Lisa Sthalekar (@sthalekar93) March 10, 2021
Gunathilaka definitely out obstructing the fielder, he had showed no urgency getting back in his crease as 2 fielders converge on the ball, run out opportunity at the other end. Pollard full rights to appeal & umpires have made a good decision. Game Awareness #SLvWI #cricket pic.twitter.com/FLkseX1MES
— Brad Hogg (@Brad_Hogg) March 11, 2021
It’s official Cricket has gone bonkers … !!! https://t.co/eN9U8wVSg8
— Michael Vaughan (@MichaelVaughan) March 10, 2021
— Tom Moody (@TomMoodyCricket) March 10, 2021
Don’t think that was willful at all. I wouldn’t appeal but hey 🤷🏿♂️🤷🏿♂️
— Daren Sammy (@darensammy88) March 10, 2021
— Russel Arnold (@RusselArnold69) March 11, 2021