Home Cricket News Delhi Capitals Announce Retentions For IPL 2021

Delhi Capitals Announce Retentions For IPL 2021

Delhi Capitals Announce Retentions For IPL 2021

The Delhi Capitals have announced the complete list of their retentions and released players for IPL 2021. The finalists of last season have decided to keep their core of Indian players who have extremely successful in the last few seasons. Shreyas Iyer will continue to lead the side who has captained the side in the last 2 seasons. Rishabh Pant will again hold the key for Delhi Capitals as he now continues to grow as a batsman.

One name that surprised everyone in the retention list was of experienced Ajinkya Rahane. The 32-year-old wasn’t a regular in the squad in IPL 2020 but the franchise has backed him and retained him for the next IPL season. Other big Indian players that are retained by the franchise include Rishabh Pant, Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Ishant Sharma and R Ashwin.

Meanwhile, DC now has an available purse of Rs. 12.8 crores to spend in the IPL auction. The franchise jas a potent side on paper and will again be a team to watch out for in the next season. The fast bowling trio of Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje and Ishant Sharma will be intimidating for every side they play against.

Delhi Capitals retained players for IPL 2021

Shreyas Iyer (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Amit Mishra, Avesh Khan, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Ishant Sharma, Kagiso Rabada, Prithvi Shaw, R Ashwin, Rishabh Pant, Shikhar Dhawan, Lalit Yadav, Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetmyer, Daniels Sams, Anrich Nortje

Delhi Capitals Released: Alex Carey, Keemo Paul, Sandeep Lamichhane, Tushar Deshpande, Mohit Sharma

Meanwhile, it was a dream season for Delhi Capitals in the UAE where they played the finals for the very time. Under the coaching of Ricky Ponting, the young DC side punched above their weight and remained consistent throughout the season. The franchise will be looking to make their side stronger with their available purse in the mini-auction ahead of next IPL season.

Also Read: RCB Announces List Of Retained Players Ahead Of IPL 2021

Latest Posts