Home BBL Fazalhaq Farooqi Named As Overseas Replacement For Sydney Thunder

Fazalhaq Farooqi Named As Overseas Replacement For Sydney Thunder

Fazalhaq Farooqi Named As Overseas Replacement For Sydney Thunder

The Afghanistan pacer Fazalhaq Farooqi has replaced David Willey as their overseas signing. Willey has withdrawn his name from the competition. The Thunder drafted him from the platinum category of players. 

As quoted by the team’s website, the Sydney Thunder manager Andrew Gilchrist said, “Fazalhaq Farooqi is an emerging talent. He joins Thunder in great form after playing exceptional cricket in the World T20 Cup and the Asia Cup tournament.”

The statement further read, “While it was very disappointing to have lost David Willey, it has opened the door for Farooqi to further enhance his reputation and growing status in world cricket.”

“Afghanistan has enjoyed a tremendous representation in the BBL over the years. Rashid Khan has been embraced by Adelaide Strikers fans as a genuine superstar and adopted South Australian, while others, including Zahir Khan, Noor Ahmad and Mohammad Nabi, Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Qais Ahmad have made their marks.”

“We fully expect Fazalhaq will only further enhance the growing reputation of cricketers from Afghanistan being fearless cricketers and extraordinary entertainers.”

See the source image

Fazalhaq Farooqi is likely to play a key part for the side

In the 33 T20 matches Farooqi has played he has picked up 35 wickets at an economy of 6.53 and an average of 23.17. Earlier this year, he made his IPL debut with the Sunrisers Hyderabad, and the franchise retained him.

The most noteworthy performance in his short career came in the Asia Cup, where he scalped three wickets for 11 runs in 3.4 overs, including a maiden. 

Fazalhaq Farooqui is known to fire well-disguised yorkers, which is why the Sydney Thunder must have signed him for the upcoming season of the BBL. 

The existing squad of the teams includes Ben Cutting, Ollie Davies, Brendan Doggett, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Matthew Gilkes, Chris Green, Alex Hales, Baxter Holt, Nathan McAndrew, Alex Ross, Rilee Rossouw, Daniel Sams, Jason Sangha, Tanveer Sangha, David Warner.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts