Home Cricket News Four-Team Women’s T20 Challenge To Take Place In IPL Playoffs Week

Four-Team Women’s T20 Challenge To Take Place In IPL Playoffs Week

The Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur will host the women's IPL-based Women's T20 Challenge during the Playoffs and Final week in IPL 2020 this May. Unlike last year where three teams featured in the competition, the number of teams will increase to four making it a more competitive event. 

The T20 Challenge started in 2018 as a one-off game between a Harmanpreet Kaur-led Supernovas and the Trailblazers led by star opener Smriti Mandhana. Meanwhile, the competition saw expansion in 2019 and a third team, led by veteran Mithali Raj, entered the fray. Supernovas have the winners on both occasions spreading their dominance in the tournament. 

Read More: Selfish Virat Kohli slammed on Twitter for wasting a review

The third edition of the Women's T20 Challenge will witness a fourth team plying their trade in the event. While the name of the team is yet to be announced, but the Board of Control for Cricket in India has confirmed the news, a report in Cricbuzz suggests. As a result, there will be an increase in the number of league games to six, from three last year, to be followed by a final. 

Meanwhile, there have been speculations over the women IPL like the Women's Big Bash League in Australia and the Kia Super League in England. However, BCCI has ruled out the idea considering that this is not the right time to introduce a women version of the cash-rich league, which is arguably the best in the business. 

But with BCCI planning to increase teams slowly with each passing year, it is evident that they are moving towards an IPL-based tournament for the women's. Meanwhile, the fixtures and teams, including foreign players for the upcoming Women's T20 Challenge, are to be announced in due course.

Read More: Hardik Pandya ignites controversy in DY Patil Cup