Home Cricket News “Great Opportunity For Youngsters”: Gautam Gambhir On Rohit Sharma’s Absence From South...

“Great Opportunity For Youngsters”: Gautam Gambhir On Rohit Sharma’s Absence From South Africa Test Series

Gautam Gambhir-Rohit Sharma

Former Indian opener Gautam Gambhir said that the absence of Rohit Sharma from the South Africa test series is a great opportunity for youngsters. Rohit Sharma was ruled out of the series after sustaining a hamstring injury during a training session in Mumbai. Priyank Panchal was named as his replacement in the squad.

“Team India Test vice-captain Rohit Sharma sustained a left hamstring injury during his training session here in Mumbai yesterday. He has been ruled out of the upcoming 3-match Test series against South Africa. Priyank Panchal will replace Rohit Sharma in the Test squad,” BCCI stated in a press release.

“It’s a big blow for India and the way he batted in England, he would have like to go, South Africa, as he wouldn’t want to miss a Test while being in good form. He was just appointed as a vice-captain so it’s a massive blow,” Gambhir told ANI.

Massive Blow For India: Gautam Gambhir On Rohit Sharma’s Injury

Rohit Sharma

Along the same lines, Gambhir said that Rohit’s absence is a “great opportunity for youngsters” to showcase their talent in the series. Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari and Mayank Agarwal are a few young players who will look to seize this opportunity.

“Great opportunity for youngster to pick up this opportunity and make the country proud,” Gambhir told further.

Panchal looks the player who can potentially replace Rohit in the XI. He recently led India A against South Africa A in three warm-up games. With a First-class experience of 100 matches, the 31-year-old Panchal has scored over 7000 runs including 24 centuries and 25 fifties.

India’s squad for South Africa Tests

Virat Kohli (Captain), Priyank Panchal, KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj

Get the latest cricket news here and like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.