Home Cricket News ICC announce WT20 Team of the Tournament, Virat to lead

ICC announce WT20 Team of the Tournament, Virat to lead


ICC announce WT20 Team of the Tournament, Virat to lead: ICC announced on Monday the World T20 2016 team of the tournament. India’s batting spearhead Virat Kohli was named captain of the team. The team includes six players from the finalists, four England and two West Indies players. Arguably Virat Kohli was the best batsman in the tournament with 273 runs in 5 matches at an average of 136.50 and he deservedly received the Man of the Tournament award. With no other captain made a cut in the team, the ICC decided to assign Virat the leader.

Andre Russell and Samuel Badree are the only players to feature from the triumphant West Indies team in the best XI. 4 players are from England, the highest- Jason Roy, Joe Root, Jos Buttler and David Willey.

“The teams were chosen by a select group of former cricket stars and highly respected commentators who were given the task of picking a balanced side for all conditions on the basis of performances in the tournament. Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections,” ICC said in a media release on Monday.

West Indies skipper Stafanie Taylor was named player of the women”s tournament after the Caribbean eves beat Australia to lift the World T20 title.

ICC men”s team of the tournament: Jason Roy (England), Quinton de Kock (South Africa, wicketkeeper), Virat Kohli (India, captain), Joe Root (England), Jos Buttler (England), Shane Watson (Australia), Andre Russell (West Indies), Mitchell Santner (New Zealand), David Willey (England), Samuel Badree (West Indies), Ashish Nehra (India). 12th man: Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh).

ICC women”s team of the tournament: Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Charlotte Edwards (England), Meg Lanning (Australia), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies, captain), Sophie Devine (New Zealand), Rachel Priest (New Zealand, wicketkeeper), Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Megan Schutt (Australia), Sune Luus (South Africa), Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand), Anya Shrubsole (England); 12th player: Anam Amin (Pakistan).




Latest Posts