Home Cricket News ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Prize Money For The Marquee Event Announced

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Prize Money For The Marquee Event Announced

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Prize Money For The Marquee Event Announced
ICC World Cup 2023 (Photo by Gareth Copley-ICC/ICC via Getty Images)

The International Cricket Council announced the prize money for the Cricket World Cup to be played in India from 5th October to 19th November 2023. India, Australia, England, South Africa, New Zealand, Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan made it directly into the prestigious event after finishing in the top 8 of the ICC ODI Super League.

Sri Lanka and Netherlands qualified after finishing in the top 2 of the ICC qualifying tournament played in Zimbabwe this year. Like the 2019 edition, each team would play other teams once with the top four teams would qualify for the semi-finals.

The matches would be played in 10 venues of India including Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Dharmshala, Pune, Lucknow, Bengaluru, and Ahmedabad. It promises to be an exciting tournament with top-quality players taking part in the world’s best tournament on Indian soil.

India, Australia, and England are looking for the favourites to win the 2023 World Cup. The Men in Blue would be eager to break the title drought. Indian team would look to win the title on their home soil. They would start the tournament against Australia on 8th October at Chennai.

Prize Money Distribution for World Cup 2023

Prize Money
Prize Money for ICC Cricket World Cup announced

England will face New Zealand in the first match of World Cup 2023 played at Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad on 5th October. All the teams would be looking to win the title for their respective countries with a good batting pitch on the cards.

The winner of the tournament will get US 4,000,00 Dollars while the runners-up will get US 2,000,000 dollars. The two semi-finalists of this marquee event would get 800,000 each combining a total of US 1,600,000.

The 6 teams that will get eliminated in the league stage will get US 100,000 a total of US 600,000. The winner of each group game would be awarded with US 40,000 a total of US 1,800,000. It promises to be an exciting tournament with top nations fighting to win the trophy for their respective countries. Indian team has been looking to win an ICC title since 2013.

Here we look at the Prize Money for the ICC World Cup 2023

  1. Winner-US 4,000,000, Rs 33.18 Crore
  2. Runner-up- US 2,000,000, Rs 16.59 Crore
  3. Losing Semi-finalist- US 1,600,000 (US 800,000 Each)- Rs 6.63 Crore Each
  4. Teams Getting Eliminated After Group Stage (US 600,000) US 100,000-Rs 82.94 Lakhs
  5. Winner of Each Group Game- US 1,800,000 (US 40,000 Each)- Rs 33.17 Lakhs

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts