Home Cricket News ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Defending Champions West Indies Announce Squad For...

ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Defending Champions West Indies Announce Squad For The Mega Event

Pakistan West Indies squad WI
West Indies Cricket Team (Credit: Getty Images)

Defending champions West Indies have brought back senior pacer Ravi Rampaul as they announced their squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2021. The global T20 meet is scheduled to take place between October 17 and November 14 in the UAE and Oman.

The 36-year-old Rampaul has been rewarded for the stupendous run in the ongoing Caribbean Premier League (CPL). He has been recalled for the first time since 2015.

Cricket West Indies chief selector Roger Harper stated that Ravi Rampaul will bring experience to the squad and will boost the chances of picking up wickets.

“Ravi Rampaul is a highly experienced bowler who performed well in the last CG Insurance Super50 Cup and the current Hero CPL to date. He will boost the team’s wicket-taking options in the power-play and the middle phase and will provide another option for the death overs,” Harper said to Windies Cricket.

Uncapped Roston Chase called for T20 World Cup

Roston Chase
Roston Chase

All-rounder Roston Chase has also been recalled to the squad, who also has been in excellent form in the last couple of CPL seasons. The all-rounder has made 281 runs from seven matches at an average of 70.25 and has been striking them at 151.07.

“Roston Chase has shown that he is a very capable T20 player. He performed well in the CPL in 2020 and has been outstanding in the 2021 edition so far. He has shown the ability to knit the innings together while still scoring at a fast rate with a low dot-ball percentage. He will be an excellent foil for the explosive players in the team,” he added.

Meanwhile, there were no place for Sheldon Cottrell and Jason Holder, who have been named as reserves along with Akeal Hosein and Darren Bravo.

West Indies are the defending world champions and only two-time winners of the ICC T20 World Cup, winning in 2012 against Sri Lanka at the Premadasa in Colombo then four years later in 2016 against England in Kolkata.

West Indies squad for T20 World Cup: Kieron Pollard (c), Nicholas Pooran (vc), Fabian Allan, Dwayne Bravo, Roston Chase, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr

Get the latest update on IPL 2021, England vs India 2021, and other cricket news. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.