Home Feature ICC T20 World Cup 2022: 5 Players Who Can win Player Of The Tournament Award

ICC T20 World Cup 2022: 5 Players Who Can win Player Of The Tournament Award

ICC T20 World Cup 2022: 5 Players Who Can win Player Of The Tournament Award
David Warner

The ICC T20 World Cup 2022 has seen two days of cricket with qualifying rounds. Namibia and Scotland upset more fancied sides in the form of Sri Lanka and the West Indies.

The top two teams from each group will enter the Super 12 stage on October 22. Australia, England, Afghanistan, New Zealand, the winner of Group A and runners-up of Group B will form Group 1 in the Super 12 stage.

India, Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh, the winner of Group B and runners-up of Group B will form Group 2. It promises to be an exciting tournament with match winners in each team.

The pitches might help the batters and help the bowlers with bigger boundaries. Every team has top batters and bowlers that can change the course of the game. They will be important for their country winning the prestigious tournament.

Here we look at the 5 players who can win the player of the tournament award.

#1 Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli is known for his explosive batting in T20 World Cup history. He played a key role for India during the 2014 edition played in Bangladesh.

During this T20 World Cup, he scored 319 runs with four fifties to his name. He scored with a strike rate of 129.14 with an astounding average of 106.33. Kohli is the second leading getter for Team India with 3712 runs from 109 matches. He registered his career-best score of 122 not out against Afghanistan.

Kohli would be a key member of Team India in this year’s T20 World Cup at number 3. His ability to put pressure on opposition bowlers with singles and doubles on bigger grounds.

#2 David Warner

David Warner creates an impact with his explosive batting during the first six overs and destroys the opponents. In recent times, Warner has created impact hitting boundaries with ease and making life tough for opposition captains and bowlers.

Warner was the player of the tournament during the 2021 World T20 played in the United Arab Emirates. He posted the highest scorer by the Australian batter during this prestigious tournament. The previous best was held by Hayden with 265 runs during the 2007 tournament and then by Shane Watson with 249 runs in the 2012 T20 World Cup.

Warner with Finch can take the game away from opponents. He will be an important member to provide flying starts and not allow the bowlers to settle. During the victorious run in 2021, the pocket dynamo 3 half-centuries with the best score of 89 against West Indies.

#3 Kagiso Rabada

Kagiso Rabada is one of the best fast bowlers at present moment. With the pace and bounce on Australian pitches, Rabada can create a threat on the opponent batters in the first six overs.

Rabada did well in last year’s T20 World Cup. He bowled decently with 8 wickets from 5 matches at an economy of 8.15 runs per over. South Africa did not qualify for the T20 World Cup semi-finals due to a lower net run rate.

South Africa has a decent bowling lineup on Australian conditions. Rabada needs to be at his best to provide early breakthroughs along with line and length. Rabada and Nortje could be an ideal combination to trouble the opponent batters. It will be interesting to see if Rabada can damage with his aggressive bowling.

#4 Rashid Khan

Rashid Khan is one of the best spinners in the T20I format. He gives his 100 percent for Afghanistan and creates impact with variations. The leg spinner never looked overawed with the situation making life tough for the opposition batters.

He performed brilliantly in the T20 World Cup 2021. Afghanistan qualified directly for the Super 12 stage. Afghanistan finished fourth with two wins over Namibia and Scotland. Rashid Khan performed well in the initial stages but could not pick wickets at a latter stage.

Rashid Khan grabbed eight wickets from five matches with an economy of 6.10 runs per over. He registered with figures of 4/9.

With Afghanistan in a tough group along with Australia, New Zealand, England, and two more qualifying teams, Rashid Khan needs to play a huge role in restricting the opponents and grabbing wickets. Rashid has the experience of playing on Australian grounds thanks to the Big Bash League.

#5 Trent Boult

Trent Boult will play a key role for New Zealand with the new ball. He can create an impact with his swing and if conditions help the pacers, Boult will be a handful and give early strikes.

Boult was a key reason why New Zealand reached the finals of the 2021 T20 World Cup. He grabbed 13 wickets from seven matches and finished as the third leading wicket-taker for the tournament.

He has been the backbone of New Zealand bowling for quite a few years. His performance will be key for Kiwis to go long way and be the player of the tournament.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.



Latest Posts