Home Cricket News ICC T20 World Cup 2024: India Announce Squad For Mega Event, Shubman Gill In Reserves

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: India Announce Squad For Mega Event, Shubman Gill In Reserves

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: India Announce Squad For Mega Event, Shubman Gill In Reserves
Indian team

The Indian Cricket Team for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 has been announced that will be played in the USA and West Indies. Rohit Sharma will lead the side in the prestigious event. Rohit Sharma, Yashavi Jaiswal, and Virat Kohli would consist of the top three batters.

Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, and Shivam Dube, who have performed brilliantly in the ongoing IPL 2024 have been given a place in the squad. Suryakumar Yadav also showed good form going into the mega event and has been given a place. Hardik Pandya has been named vice-captain for the tournament. Pant and Sanju Samson are the two wicketkeeping options included by BCCI.

The pace bowling options consist of Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, and Arshdeep Singh. Yuzvendra Chahal makes a return to the Indian T20I squad after impressive performances for RR in IPL 2024. Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, and Ravindra Jadeja comprise spin bowling options included in the squad. Shivam Dube and Hardik Pandya provide the pace bowlers along with three genuine options.

Rinku Singh, Shubman Gill, Khaleel Ahmed, and Avesh Khan have been added as reserves for the mega event.

India’s Schedule for T20 World Cup 2024

The Indian Cricket Team has been clubbed with Ireland, Pakistan, Canada, and the United States of America in Group A. Rohit Sharma and Co will start their tournament against Ireland on 5th June at Nassau County International Cricket Ground, East Meadow, New York.

They will then take on arch-rivals Pakistan in a fierce contest to be played in New York on 9th June. After this contest, the Indian team will face the Co-hosts, against the United States on 12th June. The final Group game would be against Canada on the 15th of June at Lauderhill.

Indian team would be looking to win the title with a balanced squad. Rohit Sharma and Co lost badly in the semi-finals of the 2022 edition of WC against England by 10 wickets.

India’s T20 World Cup squad

Rohit Sharma (C), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Pant (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Siraj, Bumrah.

Travelling Reserves– Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, Avesh Khan.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts