Home Cricket News ICC T20 World Cup 2024: Namibia Qualify For The Mega Event

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: Namibia Qualify For The Mega Event

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: Namibia Qualify For The Mega Event
Namibia Cricket Team. (Credit: Twitter)

Namibia became the first country from Africa to qualify for the World T20 2024 to be played in the West Indies and the United States of America. They registered their fifth successive win in Africa qualifiers defeating Tanzania by 58 runs at Windhoek, Namibia on 28th November 2023.

Tanzania captain Abhik Patwa won the toss and decided to field first. Micheal Van Lingen and Nikolas Davin showed intent right from word go putting pressure on Tanzania bowlers. Davin was dismissed after a quickfire 25 off 17 deliveries. Davin and Lingen added 37 runs for the opening wicket.

Every Namibia batter got starts but could not convert into big scores. JJ Smit’s quickfire knock along with cameos by Zane Green and Jan Lofite Eaton helped Namibia post 157 for 6 in 20 overs. For Tanzania, Yalinde Nyanka and Akhil Anil grabbed 2 wickets each.


The Namibia bowlers looked impressive as they did not allow Tanzania batters to score runs quickly and also picked wickets at regular intervals. Gerhard Erasmus was the pick of bowlers with 2 for 17 in 4 overs while David Wiese and Bernard Scholtz took 1 wicket each. Namibia won the match comfortably by 58 runs. For his unbeaten 40 off 21 balls, JJ Smit was named player of the match award.

Namibia qualifies for the third successive T20 tournament

Namibia made it into their 3rd successive World T20 tournament. They performed brilliantly in the Africa T20 qualifiers defeating all teams including Zimbabwe by 7 wickets, they dominated Uganda winning by 6 wickets.

Namibia continued their winning run with 68 68-run victory over Rwanda via DLS method. They showed their class with another big win over Kenya by 6 wickets. Namibia proved its worth with another dominating victory over Tanzania.

Under the captaincy of Gerhard Erasmus, Namibia was with Ireland, Netherlands, and Sri Lanka in the qualifying round during the 2021 edition played in UAE. They were clubbed with New Zealand, Pakistan, India, Afghanistan, and Scotland in Group 2 of the Super 12 stage and won 1 match.

Namibia stunned 1996 Champions Sri Lanka in the first match of the qualifying round of the 2022 edition of WC played in Australia. They could not sustain as they lost to Netherlands and UAE to be knocked out of the first round.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts