Home Cricket News ICC T20 World Cup 2024: Pakistan Announce Squad For Marquee Event

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: Pakistan Announce Squad For Marquee Event

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: Pakistan Announce Squad For Marquee Event

Pakistan eventually named their 15-member squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 to be played in the USA and West Indies beginning from 2nd June onwards. The 2009 T20 Champion, Pakistan will be led by Babar Azam. They are currently in England for a 4 match T20I series as the first match was washed out due to rain.

Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Saim Ayub, Usman Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, and Azam Khan comprise of batters. The opening slots for the T20I World Cup will be decided after the series against England.

Imad Wasim and Shahbad Khan would comprise of all-rounders who can bat and bowl decently.  The pace bowling options look strong with the likes of Shaheen Shah Afridi, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, Abbas Afridi, and Mohammad Aamir. Abrar Ahmed and Imad Wasim are two genuine spin bowling options.

Iftikhar Ahmed could be used as a part-time spin bowling option if any of these bowlers have a bad day.

Pakistan’s Schedule for World Cup 2024

Pakistan has been clubbed with arch-rivals India, Ireland, the USA, and Canada in the Group A. They would begin their tournament against the United States of America on 6th June at Grand Prairie Stadium, Dallas, Texas. Their next match would be against arch-rivals India on 9th June in New York. They would next face Canada on 11th June in New York.

They would end their tournament against Ireland on 16th June at Central Broward Regional Park Stadium, Lauderhill. Pakistan would be hoping to go one step further as they qualified for the finals of the T20 World Cup 2022. They looked out of the competition losing to arch-rivals India and Zimbabwe. Pakistan then defeated the Netherlands, South Africa and Bangladesh.

Netherlands stunned South Africa in the final league match to allow Pakistan to finish at number 2 spot in Group 2. Pakistan thrashed New Zealand by a massive margin in the first semi-finals to qualify for the finals before losing to England in the finals at MCG.

Pakistan Squad:

Fakhar Zaman, Saim Ayub, Mohammad Rizwan, Babar Azam (C), Azam Khan (WK), Usman Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Shahbad Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Mohammad Aamir, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, Abbas Afridi, Abrar Ahmed.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts