Home ICC T20 World Cup 2021 ICC T20 World Cup: Twitteratti React As Ravichandran Ashwin Added In India...

ICC T20 World Cup: Twitteratti React As Ravichandran Ashwin Added In India team; Yuzvendra Chahal And Shikhar Dhawan Left Out

India ICC t20 World Cup 2021

Veteran India spinner R Ashwin has returned to the Indian T20I squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 which is all set to take place in UAE and Oman whereas the wrist spinners duo – Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav have been left out for the mega event.

However, Ashwin last featured in a T20I in July way back in 2017 against the West Indies. He led Punjab in the IPL in the 2018 and 2019 seasons as well, picking up 10 and 15 wickets respectively. Later, he played for Delhi Capitals in 2020 and picked up 13 wickets at an average of 30.07 and an economy of 7.66 as well.

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2021: BCCI Announces Team India Squad For The Mega Event

On the other hand, veteran opener Shikhar Dhawan, who recently led the limited-overs side in Sri Lanka, has also failed to get a place in the squad as well. Meanwhile, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar and Shardul Thakur have been added to the reserve players for the Indian team.

Meanwhile, former India captain MS Dhoni will also be with the team as a mentor for the tournament, confirmed the BCCI secretary Jay Shah while announcing the squad on Wednesday (September 8).

Twitterati reacted seeing the Team India T20 World Cup squad:

Squad: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami.