Home Cricket News ICC T20 World Cup 2021: BCCI Announces Team India Squad For The...

ICC T20 World Cup 2021: BCCI Announces Team India Squad For The Mega Event

India ICC t20 World Cup 2021

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced a star-studded 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2021 on Wednesday. The mega T20 event slated to commence on October 17 will take place in the UAE and Oman. The final of the much-anticipated tournament is on November 14. Previously, it was scheduled to take place in India; however, it was rescheduled considering the COVID-19 crisis in India.

The Men in Blue who are yet to win an ICC title since 2013 will be desperate to win the T20 World Cup. Moreover, the last time India won the mega title was way back in 2007 during the inaugural edition under captain MS Dhoni.

Speaking of the squad, veteran off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin has made a comeback to the shortest format of the game. This move comes after young all-rounder Washington Sundar has been ruled out of the tournament with an injury. Shikhar Dhawan, who recently captained the limited-overs side in Sri Lanka, has also been left out.

Ravichandran Ashwin IPL Ryan Harris
Ravichandran Ashwin Credit: Twitter)

Yuzvendra Chahal left out of India squad

Surprisingly Deepak Chahar has been left out of the squad along with leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal. Young gun Rahul Chahar makes the cut alongside Varun Chakravarthy as specialist spinners while Axar Patel and Ravindra Jadeja will be the two spin bowling all-rounders.

Meanwhile, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, and Shardul Thakur will be the reserves for the Indian team.

Former India captain MS Dhoni has been named team mentor and will work closely with head coach Ravi Shastri and the rest of the support staff to “provide support and direction,” according to BCCI secretary Jay Shah.

India squad for T20 World Cup:

Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami.

Standby players – Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar.

India’s schedule for the T20 World Cup

24th October 2021: India vs Pakistan, 7:30 PM, Dubai

31st October 2021: India vs New Zealand, 7:30 PM, Dubai

3rd November 2021: India vs Afghanistan, 7:30 PM, Abu Dhabi

5th November 2021: India vs B1, 7:30 PM, Dubai

8th November 2021: India vs A2, 7:30 PM Dubai

Get the latest update on IPL 2021England vs India 2021, and other cricket news. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.