Home Cricket News India Announce 18-Member Squad For T20I Series Against West Indies

India Announce 18-Member Squad For T20I Series Against West Indies

Team India Manchester test
Photo Credit: (BCCI/Twitter)

The All-India Senior Selection Committee has picked an 18-member squad for the upcoming Paytm T20I series against the West Indies. The T20Is will be in Kolkata, on February 16, 18 and 20 after a three-match ODI series.


Senior pacers Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami have been rested from the series along with veteran off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin, who will be nursing his injury. Ravindra Jadeja is undergoing his final stage of recovery post his knee injury and will not be available for the ODIs and T20Is.

Young fast bowler Avesh Khan has been picked in the squad after a superlative campaign in the IPL 2021 where he finished as the second-highest wicket-taker. Harshal Patel, who had an impeccable debut against New Zealand has also retained his berth.

Washington Sundar makes a return after missing out on the South Africa tour with Covid. Axar Patel, who suffered an injury during the Test series against New Zealand, has also found a place in the India squad. Venkatesh Iyer, who also poor returns against the Proteas, has found his place in the T20Is while he has been left out of the ODIs.

T20I squad: Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Mohd. Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel.

Get the latest cricket news here and like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.