Home Cricket News India Announce 18-Member ODI Squad For West Indies Series

India Announce 18-Member ODI Squad For West Indies Series

Team India - Zaheer Khan
Photo Credit: (BCCI)

The All-India Senior Selection Committee has picked an 18-member squad for the upcoming Paytm ODI and T20I series against the West Indies. A couple of new names have made it to the squad as Rahul Dravid continues his search for the perfect template for the one-dayers.


Senior pacers Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami have been rested from the series along with veteran off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin, who will be nursing his injury. Vice-captain KL Rahul will be available from 2nd ODI onwards.

Ace all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja is undergoing his final stage of recovery post his knee injury and will not be available for the ODIs and T20Is. Kuldeep Yadav, who lost his place in the limited-overs squad has also made a return to the India squad.

Rohit Sharma has returned to lead Team India after successfully recovering from a hamstring injury that ruled him out of the entire South Africa series. Former Indian skipper Virat Kohli will be spearheading the formidable batting order of India while Shikhar Dhawan has retained his berth after a good stint against the Proteas.

Meanwhile, exciting young talent Ravi Bishnoi has received his maiden call-up for the white-ball series. Bishnoi, who first grabbed eyeballs in the U-19 World Cup, had eventful stints in the last two IPL seasons. Washington Sundar also returns to the fold after a long injury haul.

The ODIs will be played in Ahmedabad on February 6, 9 and 11.

ODI squad: Rohit Sharma (Capt), KL Rahul (vc), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shikhar, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wk), Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan

Get the latest cricket news here and like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.