Home Asia Cup 2022 India Announce Squad For Upcoming Asia Cup; Virat Kohli And KL Rahul...

India Announce Squad For Upcoming Asia Cup; Virat Kohli And KL Rahul Return

Virat Kohli India
Virat Kohli (Credit: Twitter)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced a 15-member squad for the upcoming Asia Cup 2022. It will work as a preparation ground for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup scheduled to take place in Australia later this year.

Star batter Virat Kohli has returned to the squad alongside KL Rahul. While the former captain was rested from the just-concluded series against West Indies, Rahul returns after a lengthy period on the sidelines with a groin injury and a Covid-19 positive diagnosis.

With Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel ruled out with injuries, India will go into the multi-team tournament in the UAE with only three frontline fast-bowling options in Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh and Avesh Khan with Hardik Pandya serving as the fast-bowling all-rounder.

Middle order batter Deepak Hooda has managed to retain his place at the expense of Shreyas Iyer and Sanju Samson while Ravi Bishnoi has been retained as the second leg-spinner in the squad. Young wicketkeeper-batter Ishan Kishan was unlucky to miss out on the Asia Cup squad.

India’s squad: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Deepak Hooda, Yuzvendra Chahal

Stand by players: Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, Deepak Chahar

India will begin their defence of the Asia Cup against arch rivals Pakistan at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium in Dubai on August 28.

more to follow…

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.