Home Cricket News India Likely To Play 5-Match Test Series Twice in Australia

India Likely To Play 5-Match Test Series Twice in Australia

India Likely To Play 5-Match Test Series Twice in Australia
India will play Australia in five Tests (Credit: Twitter)

Indian cricket team and Australia cricket team are set to face each other in two 5-match test series in Australia in the 2023-2031 cycle. The Future Tour programme (FTP) for 2023-2031 cycle is going to be announced soon. Till now, India and Australia used to face each other in 4-match test series in Australia.

According to the famous Australian media company THE AGE, India will tour Australia twice in the next FTP cycle for 5- match test series. The local and international broadcasters have been informed about this decision. It’s going to bring a lot of revenue. Usually the test series between India and Australia is among the most watched Test series in world.

Currently, only two test series consist of 5 matches. Ashes trophy (England and Australia) and the Pataudi Trophy (India and England). It would become the third test series to consist of 5-matches. It would be an interesting battle to watch Indian and Australian superstars face each other.

The test series played between India and Australia is famously known as Border Gavaskar Trophy. It is one of the most prestigious test series in the history of cricket, only behind the Ashes series played between Australia and England. Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane are the only two Indian captains to win test series in Australia.

India have won the last two Test series in Australia

India have won the last two Border Gavaskar Trophy played in Australia in 2018 and 2020. In both the series, Australia faced defeat in their home conditions which shows how strong the current Indian test team is. India won the recent Border Gavaskar Trophy by 2-1 in Australia despite playing with their B team.

India faced an embarassing defeat in the first test match at Adelaide where they were bundled out for 36 runs. But Ajinkya Rahane led Indian team displayed an amazing fightback. Rahane was the hero of the win at Melbourne. Ravichandran Ashwin, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, and Cheteshwar Pujara helped India draw the match at Sydney. While Pant , Shardul Thakur, Shubman Gill and Washington Sundar played a crucial role in historic win at Gabba.

Get the latest cricket news here and like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.


Latest Posts