Home News India Women squads announced for South Africa series

India Women squads announced for South Africa series

(Pic Source: BCCI)

The All India Women’s selection committee has announced the squads for the upcoming home tour of Proteas. The tour comprises of 5 T20I’s and 3 ODI’s starting September 24. The T20I’s will be played at Surat while the One-day games are set to be played at Vadodara.

Mithali Raj and Harmanpreet Kaur will lead the side in ODI and T20I formats. However, the squads have been announced only for the first three T20I games. The squads for the next will be released in days to come.

(Pic Source: BCCI)

Meanwhile, the inclusion of 15-year old Shafali Verma grabbed some attention. It will be interesting to see how she would approach the game to cement her spot in the national side.

On the other hand, the ODI series will be a part of the ICC World Championship. Points obtained by winning a game will play a vital role in gaining automatic qualifications for ICC Women’s World Cup 2021.

Mithali’s absence in T20I series

This will be the first T20I series officially without the presence of Mithali Raj. She announced her retirement a few days ago from the shortest format of the game. However, she will continue to lead the ODI side.

(Pic Source: BCCI/ICC)

Here is the Schedule:

South Africa Women’s Tour of India, 2019
Date Day Match Venue
24th Sep Tuesday 1st T20I Surat
26th Sep Thursday 2nd T20I Surat
29th Sep Sunday 3rd T20I Surat
1st Oct Tuesday 4th T20I Surat
4th Oct Friday 5th T20I Surat
9th Oct Wednesday 1st ODI Vadodara
11th Oct Friday 2nd ODI Vadodara
14th Oct Monday 3rd ODI Vadodara


Indian Women’s squad for first 3 T20Is: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Poonam Yadav, Shikha Pandey, Arundhati Reddy, Pooja Vastrakar, Radha Yadav, Veda Krishnamurthy, Harleen Deol, Anuja Patil, Shafali Verma, Mansi Joshi

Indian Women’s ODI squad: Mithali Raj (Captain), Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur (vice-captain), Punam Raut, Smriti Mandhana, Deepti Sharma, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Mansi Joshi, Ekta Bisht, Poonam Yadav, D Hemalatha, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Priya Punia