Home Cricket News Indian Women”s team win 1st ever ODI bilateral series against South Africa Women 2-1

Indian Women”s team win 1st ever ODI bilateral series against South Africa Women 2-1


South African women defeated India by 7 wickets in the 3rd ODI match played Senwes Park, Potchefstroom of ICC World Championships just finished a few moments ago. Indian captain won the toss and elected to bat. Only Veda Krishnamurthy and Deepti Sharma could score valuable contributions. Chasing the target, South Africa chased the target with 4 balls remaining.

Smriti Mandhana named as the new brand ambassador of this brand

Indian captain Mithali Raj won the toss and elected to bat at Potchefstroom earlier today. The innings got off to a worse start losing inform batter Smriti Mandhana and captain Mithali Raj. Deepti Sharma opened the innings for the team. At the end of 10 overs, India scored 25 for 2 wickets. Harmanpreet Kaur and Deepti Sharma played with caution and added 47 runs for the third wicket.

Smriti Mandhana Player of the series (Pic Source: CSA)

Veda Krishnamurthy and Deepti Sharma steadied the Indian innings with a solid 83 runs stand for the 4th wicket. The girl from Agra, Deepti and Veda reached their respective half-centuries. Indian’s lost wickets at regular intervals. Shikha Pandey played a cameo knock of 31 in 17 balls. The hosts bowled out India for 240.

VIDEO: Smriti Mandhana lauds Jhulan Goswami for her record of 200 Wickets milestone

Chasing the target of 241, South Africa too lost an early wicket of dangerous L Lee for 10 runs. A Steyn and Wolvaardt steadied the innings scoring 34 runs for 1 wicket. Steyn and Wolvaardt added 41 runs for the second wicket. Wolvaardt and M du Preez gave a solid foundation for the South African team, putting on 118 runs stand for the 3rd wicket. Wolvaardt reached his half-century off 82 balls while M du Preez completed his 50 off 70 balls.

Captain Dan Van Niekerk and du Preez played with good intent adding 72 runs in 10.2 overs. South African women earned a consolation win in the 3rd ODI by 7 wickets with 4 balls to spare.

South African women 241 for 3 in 49.2 overs ( M du Preez 90*, Wolvaardt 59, Ekta Bisht 1/38) beat

Indian women 240 in 50 overs ( Deepti Sharma 79, V Krishnamurthy 56, S Ismail 4/30) by 7 wickets.

Indian women won the series by 2-1. India will play a five-match T20 series against South Africa from 13th February.


Latest Posts