Home Cricket News IPL 2020 Prize Money Details: Champions To Bag Less Money Than Pat...

IPL 2020 Prize Money Details: Champions To Bag Less Money Than Pat Cummins

Mumbai Indians CSK
Mumbai Indians won their fifth IPL title. (Photo Credit: IPL)

The IPL 2020 is drawing towards its finale, with Mumbai Indians to fight with Delhi Capitals for the much-coveted title. Delhi beat Sunrisers Hyderabad in the second qualifier to make it to their first-ever final. The final will be played on November 10 in Dubai. Meanwhile, BCCI announced the prize money for the champions, runners-up and the team placed third. It also said that the prize money will be dropped by half of the actual money because of the changing scenarios in which the IPL was staged.

The BCCI had sent a notice to all the franchises where it was mentioned that the prize money for this season will be slashed by 50 percent of the actual prize. Consequently, the winner of IPL 2020 will receive Rs 10 crore instead of Rs 20 crore. On the other hand, the runners-up will receive Rs 6.35 crore instead of 12.50 crore.

“The financial rewards have been reworked as a part of the cost-cutting measures. The champions will get Rs 10 crore instead of Rs 20 crore. The runners-up will get Rs 6.25 crore from earlier Rs 12.5 crore,” a BCCI notification read.

IPL 2020 Prize Money Details

Incidentally, the prize money for this year is even lesser than the IPL 2020 price of some of the overseas players. KKR bagged Pat Cummins for 15.5 crores while Glenn Maxwell and Chris Morris have received Rs 10.75 crore and Rs 10 crore respectively.

Meanwhile, BCCI is yet to announce the prize money for the Orange Cap holder, the Purple Cap holder and the emerging player. Their prize money might be slashed as well.

Orange Cap winner and the Purple Cap winner earned Rs 10 lakh each last year. The Emerging player went home with Rs 10 lakh in 2019. The most valuable player (MVP) of the season award-winner received Rs 10 lakh as well.

Also Read: Shreyas Iyer Reacts After Delhi Capitals Reach Their First Ever IPL Final