IPL 2020: Rajasthan Royals Travel Details Elucidated

Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab all set to resume their first net session ahead of IPL 2020.

The IPL 2020 is scheduled to start from September 19 with defending champions Mumbai Indians facing against last year’s runner’s up Chennai Super Kings in Abu Dhabi. The tournament will be played at three venues, namely, Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Sharjah. All the teams have reached UAE and have settled down at their base.

Meanwhile, Rajasthan Royals are based in Dubai and their travel schedule is the most widespread out. They will play six games in Dubai, five in Abu Dhabi and three in Sharjah. The reason behind this scattered arrangement for the Royals to ensure more home games for the other teams.

IPL 2020: Full Coverage

Team and Venue Details

Like the Royals, Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Delhi Capitals (DC), Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) are all based in Dubai. While SRH will play eight matches in Dubai, the other three will play seven each.

Meanwhile, Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders are based in Abu Dhabi and will play eight matches each at the venue.

How are the Royals Compensated For Their Hectic Travel Schedule

The Royals will be one of the last teams to start their IPL 2020 campaign. They play their first game against CSK on September 22. This is where they have been compensated. They have a rich contingent of England and Australian players in their squad. Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer, Tom Curran, Andrew Tye and their skipper Steve Smith form the core of the side.

Majority of the players are currently playing a limited-overs series in England and a late start will mean the availability of all of them in due course.

KKR’s Availability of Foreign Players Also Kept in Mind

Meanwhile, KKR also have key players in their squad from England and Australia. Eoin Morgan, Tom Banton and Pat Cummins are all part of KKR and they will join the side ahead of their campaign opener against MI on September 23.

Can the England and Australian Players Join Their Franchisees Straightaway After Reaching UAE?

Abu Dhabi has a 14-day quarantine rule at the moment and the IPL rule also calls for a mandatory six-day quarantine period rule. but since the England and Australian players will have already stayed in a bio-secure bubble before joining the squads, it is expected that they might just be allowed to skip the rule. IPL Governing Council Brijesh Patel is in talks with the local authorities to ensure that the players do not have to stay in another quarantine period upon their arrival in the UAE.

Meanwhile, the IPL Governing Council has for now announced the schedule of IPL 2020 only for the league stage. The schedule and the venue for the playoffs and the final will be announced in due course. IPL 2020 final will be played on November 10.