Home Cricket News IPL 2021: What Happened When CSK & KKR Played in IPL 2012...

IPL 2021: What Happened When CSK & KKR Played in IPL 2012 Final

KKR IPL 2012 Final
Photo Credit: (IPL)

IPL 2021 will see Chennai Super Kings (CSK ) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) play a rematch of the 2012 final. Gautam Gambhir’s side beat MS Dhoni’s men on the night to lift their maiden IPL title. This time it is Eoin Morgan who is leading the Knights up against MS Dhoni wily old men. Chennai have beaten Kolkata in both the league games heading into the finale.

In the meantime, here is a look back at what happened in the 2012 final which was played in Chennai.

Chennai Super Kings won the toss and opted to bat first. Michael Hussey scored 54 and added 87 runs for the first wicket with Murali Vijay (42) Coming into bat at number three Suresh Raina played a cameo scoring 87 off just 34 balls hitting three fours and five sixes. CSK ended up scoring a mammoth 190/3at the halfway mark.

Manvinder Bisla cameo Helps KKR Win Maiden IPL Title

The odds were against KKR who had a tricky start to their chase. They lost skipper Gautam Gambhir early in the first over. Manvinder Bisla who was playing for KKR was an unknown commodity in IPL cricket. Opening the batting alongside the skipper he scored 89 off just 48 balls hitting eight fours and five sixes. With him Jacques Kallis played a good hand of 69 off just 49 balls. Both kept KKR in the chase, till Bisla was dismissed in the 15th over of the innings with the team score on 139.

KKR still needed close to 60 runs off their final five overs. They lost a flurry of wickets with Yusuf Pathan, Laxmi Ratan Shukla getting out after the Bisla-Kallis stand was broken.

It's insulting: Manoj Tiwary disappointed with Kolkata Knight Riders over tweet on IPL 2012 triumph - Sports News
Photo Credit: (IPL)

Shakib Al Hasan (11 off 7) and Manoj Tiwary (9 off 3) kept a cool head to take KKR over the line. Tiwary hit a four as the winning run for his side and won the game for his side.

Two years later, Gautam Gambhir led KKR to their second IPL title, this time beating Punjab Kings in the final.

Get the latest update on IPL 2021England vs India 2021, and other cricket news. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.