Home Feature IPL 2022: 3 Active Cricketers Who Have Represented Both CSK And MI

IPL 2022: 3 Active Cricketers Who Have Represented Both CSK And MI

IPL 2022: 3 Active Cricketers Who Have Represented Both CSK And MI
Dwayne Bravo (Credit: Twitter)

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Mumbai Indians (MI) are two of the most successful sides in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL). They have won the titles on nine occasions out of the 14 editions so far with MI winning it five times while the Super Kings have four trophies under their belt.

Both teams have made fans all-round the world sit and take notice as have produced some enthralling encounters with last-over finishes. The 2019 IPL final is still fresh in everyone’s heart as Lasith Malinga won it for the Mumbai franchise in the last ball.

Meanwhile, it is a privilege for players to represent both MI and CSK. Only a handful of players have managed to achieve the feat so far in the history of compeititon. We will take a look at three such cricketers, who are still playing.

3 Active Cricketers Who Have Represented Both CSK And MI

3. Karn Sharma

Karn Sharma
Karn Sharma (Credit: BCCI/IPL)

The veteran leg-spinner, who is considered to be a lucky charm, is among the few cricketers, who have plied trade for both Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings. Karn Sharma won his first title with Sunrisers Hyderabad, before being traded to Mumbai Indians next season.

He made telling contributions in the MI colours, picking up 13 wickets in nine matches and helped Rohit Sharma and Co. lift the title that season. Next year he joined CSK, which was returning to the competition after a two-year ban.

Although he had very little contributions to make, scalping four wickets in six outings, he won his third IPL title. Currently, the veteran cricketer is part of the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). Many RCB fans are hoping that Karn’s luck will bring the trophy home this year.

2. Ambati Rayudu

Ambati Rayudu
Ambati Rayudu (Credit: BCCI/IPL)

The veteran batter marked the beginning of his IPL journey with Mumbai Indians in 2010. An aggressive batter, Rayudu was held on to by Mumbai Indians prior to IPL 2011 when all IPL squads got a makeover. And given his consistent run over the last three seasons, Rayudu was again retained by MI prior to IPL 2014.

In the 2015 season, Rayudu made 281 runs at a strike rate of 145 and remained not out on five occasions. He joined CSK in 2018 and since then, he has taken the game to a whole new level. Rayudu has been ever consistent wherever he has batted for the four-time IPL champions.

However, the veteran batter is yet to hit the straps this season. He has managed only 128 runs in six matches with the highest score of 46. Rayudu will hope to turn around the campaign as Chennai desperately look for a win.

1. Dwyane Bravo

Dwayne Bravo
Dwayne Bravo (Credit: BCCI/IPL)

The Trinidadian all-rounder is one of the most-loved overseas cricketers in the IPL. While he is synonymous with CSK, very few will know that Dwayne Bravo represented MI in the first three seasons of the cash-rich league since 2008.

The Chennai eventually roped him in 2011 and since then, he has been with them barring 2016 and 2017 when the franchise was suspended due to their alleged involvement in match-fixing. The 38-year-old has been an integral part of the side and has led them to victories on innumerable occasions.

Recently, Bravo leapfrogged Lasith Malinga to be the highest-ever wicket-taker in the history of the tournament. He has been the only star, picking up 10 wickets in six matches, in otherwise what has been a disastrous campaign for the defending champions so far.

Get the latest cricket news here and like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts