Home Cricket News IPL 2023 Auction: Mumbai Indians Announce List of Retained Players

IPL 2023 Auction: Mumbai Indians Announce List of Retained Players

IPL 2023 Auction: Mumbai Indians Announce List of Retained Players
Photo: Twitter

The deadline has passed, and the teams have released their list of players who have been retained and released. Five-time Indian Premier League (IPL) champions Mumbai Indians had a forgettable season the previous year by winning only four league games. 

Mumbai has retained its core of Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Surya Kumar Yadav, and Ishan Kishan. They have also kept the likes of Jofra Archer, who didn’t appear for them the previous season, and spent big money on him. Even though he started bowling, his fitness is still a big question mark. 

One of the surprising calls the franchise has taken was around veteran West Indies all-rounder Kieron Pollard who has been part of the team since 2010. Pollard has retired from IPL and will join the group’s coaching staff (batting coach). 

The likes of youngsters like Tristan Stubbs, Dewald Brevis, and Tim David will be getting more opportunities. David is a like-to-like replacement for the big-hitting Pollard. Brevis is also in good form scoring 162 runs in a game for the Titans. Stubbs, since his debut, has been a hot commodity for several teams and the most expensive player in the SA 20 league. 

The franchise has backed young Indian talent like Tilak Verma, Hrithik Shokeen, and Kumar Kartikeya. All of these players are performing well in the domestic circuit so retaining them wasn’t quite a surprise. 

Mumbai Indians release Daniel Sams, Jaydev Unadkat

Fast bowlers like Daniel Sams, Jaydev Unadkat and Basil Thampi have been released. They have traded Jason Behrendoff from the Royal Challengers Bangalore. They will be looking to add some pacers to complement Bumrah and Archer. As well as leg spinners to their team as they have let go of Mayank Markande. 

They will look at this auction to fill the existing gaps in their squad to lift their sixth championship. They have a remaining purse of 20.55 crores. 

Here’s a list of their retained players: 

Rohit Sharma (₹16 crores), Jasprit Bumrah (₹12 crores), Suryakumar Yadav (₹8 crores), Ishan Kishan (₹15.25 crore), Dewald Brevis (₹3 crore), N Tilak Varma (₹1.7 crore), Jofra Archer (₹8 crore), Tim David (₹8.25 crore), Mohd. Arshad Khan (₹20 lakh),Ramandeep Singh (₹20 lakh),Hrithik Shokeen (₹20 lakh),Arjun Tendulkar (₹30 lakh),Jason Behrendorff (₹75 lakh)(Traded),Kumar Kartikeya (₹20 lakh),Akash Madhwal (₹20 lakh) and Tristan Stubbs (₹20 lakh)

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts