Home Cricket News IPL 2023: Sunrisers Hyderabad Announce Their New Captain

IPL 2023: Sunrisers Hyderabad Announce Their New Captain

IPL 2023: Sunrisers Hyderabad Announce Their New Captain

Sunrisers Hyderabad announced Aiden Markram as their new captain for Indian Premier League 2023. He led Sunrisers Eastern Cape to win the inaugural SA T20 tournament. Markram finished as the 3rd leading run-getter in the SA T20 with 366 runs from 12 matches (12 innings) with 1 century and 1 half-century to his name, the highest score of 100. He pips past Mayank Agarwal to become the new captain of SRH this season.

Aiden Markram was bought by the SRH franchise for Rs 2.60 Crore and did a decent job with the bat. He scored 381 runs from 14 matches ( 12 innings) with an average of 47.63 and strike rate of 139.05. During last year, Markram scored 3 half-centuries and registered the best score of an unbeaten 68.

Sunrisers Hyderabad bought 13 players during the auction that includes Harry Brooks for Rs 13.25 Crores, Mayank Agarwal for 8.25 Crores, Adil Rashid for 2 Crore, Heinrich Klassen 5.25 Crore, Mayank Markande for 50 Lakhs, Sanvir Singh and Samarth Vyas for 20 Lakhs each, Vivrant Sharma 2.6 Crore, Upendra Yadav 25 Lakhs, Mayank Dagar 1.8 Crore, Nitish Kumar Reddy 20 Lakhs, Akeal Hossain 1 Crore and Anmolpreet Singh 20 Lakhs.

Harry Brooks was bought for his aggressive intent for England. He becomes the most expensive purchase by the Sunrisers Hyderabad franchise.

Rahul Tripathi, Washington Sundar, Abdul Samad, Abhishek Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Karthik Tyagi, T Natarajan, Umran Malik, Aiden Markram, Fazallahq Farqooi, Glenn Phillips, and Marco Jansen are the players retained by SRH franchise.

Aiden Markram would hope to lead SRH this season and showcase the skills that he displayed in the SA T20 tournament 2023. The Orange Army start their IPL 2023 tournament against Rajasthan Royals on 2nd April at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad.

Sunrisers Hyderabad performance in 2022

Sunrisers Hyderabad had a disappointing outing in the 2022 edition of the Indian Premier League. They finished 8th in the points table with 6 wins and 8 losses. Abhishek Sharma finished as the leading run-getter for SRH last year with 426 runs from 14 matches with 2 half-centuries to his name including the best score of 75.

Sunrisers Hyderabad appointed Kane Williamson as the captain for IPL 2022. He looked impressive but could not take SRH to progress into the top four.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts